dcsimg
You are here:
Matching School Ad

American Career College Reviews

There are currently 35 reviews of American Career College

 
  • School Reviews
  • Request School Info submit review
    American Career College
    Sort By:
    • Reviewed by: Vicki N on November 18th, 2008
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I've heard that success with ACC really depends on what program you're enrolled in so I can't really vouch for everything, but there are good things to say about the VPN program. It's a challenging course, but the professors are helpful and it should help anyone moving on to a career in nursing or medical assisting.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (3)

    • Reviewed by: christopher w, Certificate in on March 24th, 2011
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I was actually looking into ACC for the Massage Therapy program but decided not to after reading these reviews (thank you all by the way!!), I am wondering now though, Where is a good place to get my Massage Therapy License?!

      Please email me starbystar08@yahoo.com

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (14)

    • Reviewed by: "Danielle" S, Associate in on September 28th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I am actually a recent graduate of ACC so I can comment on the entire experience. I am an adult in my late 30's who lost her job of 20 years. Since I had always wanted to be a nurse I figured i'd take the 1 year LVN course (actually turns out to be closer to 1-1/2 - 2 years by licensing time) and after graduation i'd work while attending RN school. Unfortunately things did not work out that way. During the training if you could get past the staff lecturing the half of the class (whose mommy's are paying for their education) for being absent, late or forgetting to take out their facial piercing AGAIN you will learn alot. However most of it is what you study on your own time and teach yourself. (I know I would have never signed up to pay 32,000 to teach myself) The clinical sites are ok if you get a good instructor. (kind of a gamble) The after grad training is great and she tells you when it is time to take NCLEX. I took it and passed it on the first try HOWEVER what we were not told was that the hospitals WILL NOT HIRE NURSES WITH OUT 1 YEAR PAID EXPERIENCE!!!! The counselors push their job placement in the beginning (1 of main reasons I came here) What they do is to sit on the internet and email us the job offers they we are finding all by ourselves on the net. They will not even return our calls or emails. I say DO NOT WASTE $32,000!!! I am not slamming this school since all private nursing schools are the same. Just be prepared!! I APPARENTLY WAS NOT!!!! :(

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (17)

    • Reviewed by: ACC IS B, in on August 26th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      Only in the first term at ACC as an LVN and today we found out that an average so far have failed our test before the mid-term. That is bad.....We studied for all of the objectives and none were on the test......The test was all critical thinking and we haven't even started clinicals yet......I feel like it's a waste of my time and I've been a straight A student my whole life....I don't get it....66 students and an average of 65% are failing.....They are here for the money....$30,000 for each student....Uhhhh ...that's over a million dollars adding up just from one LVN class...

      We get a sub...the director of the campus...Mrs. Delegrosa...She puts her hand in our faces when we have a question....They're suppose to help but they don't have an answer....Our teacher doesn't write the test....she does, so how do we know what to ask our teachers

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (14)

    • Reviewed by: anna g, Associate in on August 25th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      i guess all in all ,if u wanna meet people ,all was OK....but to much drama with the instructor and the director....and u will be placed at Job that pays as much as mc donalds!!!!!!!!!i would have Rather went to r.o.p! for the money.....way to expensive!

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (5)

    • Reviewed by: Maria c, Diploma Non-High School in lpn-licensed-practical-nurse on September 24th, 2012
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      First of all I would like to say the Director of Nursing at American Career College is a piece of work. First of all my brother went to that school and was enrolled in the VN program, he graduated finally barely escaping the racist wrath of this Director of Nursing. I, myself, am a nurse and just hearing about the horror stories makes me want to hurl. Anyway, My brother was called by this horrendous racist B***** (pardon my french), one day to discuss issues regarding his "performance" as a student. this SOB had the nerve to tell my brother "do you want me to say it tagalog? so you can understand better?" WOW. and the worst part about it, MANAGEMENT did NOTHING to fix the situation. I believe that this is the worst nursing school anyone could ever go to. If anyone ever reads this, just remember this: Do Not Throw or Waste your precious hard earned money away by going to this stupid school. You will get treated unfairly, you will not get the proper education, and you will have to deal with the FAT, DUMB, STUPID, SON OF A WITCH... ANISSA PEREZ.

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (9)

    • Reviewed by: Valerie l, Associate in lvn-to-bsn-nursing on September 19th, 2012
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      If you feel you have been treated unfairly and/or deceived, please contact the Law Offices of Michael T. Carr at michaelcarrlaw.com

      Thank you.

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (5)

    • Reviewed by: jaszmine w, High School Diploma in medical-assistant-school on March 13th, 2012
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      acc is one of the worst schools i have ever been to the directors dont care i attend this school at the moment and im having so many problems the teachers never here all they care about is the money if you have complaint they will not help you i beging you plz do not waste your time they have you sign a paper so that you will not be able to sue them plz do something eles with your time find another school i know u want a career this is not the way to go im in the ma program and my teachers name is ms n do not atend this school i go to the la campus on wilsher i come to school everyday on timein pass all test still no good they seem all friendly to try in get you to come but once you get in it turns into a nightmare please donot atend i dont know what better way to tell you this but beg you to make an difrent and better more responsible choice if you go here go to the board of education and tell them your problems

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (8)

    • Reviewed by: Amanda l, Associate in surgical-technician-schools on June 8th, 2011
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      OK so i went to acc Ontario for surgical technology and i hated my experience when my cohart started we had one director and then two weeks end she was gone. after that we had a fill in and he was alright but then our permanent director came and everything went south.. the teachers that cared were let go for the directors friend to come in and men with little man complex to insult and be-little students when u told someone they said to change my attitude with the teacher. then career services didnt really help they just wanna know when u get a job and then for u to give them all the information so that they can take credit for finding u a job. its not worth paying 32000 for all the drama and hassle u go through with them. i was offered a job at the clinical site i was at which was 2 hours away from my home, when the director found out i was pulled from the site and lost the opportunity to work for the site i was familiar with. overall bad experience with ACC Ontario

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (16)

    • Reviewed by: brendalyn c, Certificate in on April 20th, 2011
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      worst of the worst...they just want the money...and they will give you lots of papers or they "called powerpoint" instructor just wants to talk and talk about her lovelife.she just want the student to hear all her drama..she is not even lecturing at all.give you lots of homework.and theres no pointers to review during tests.crazy schoool ever..i just want to finish what ive started and now they dropped me for no valid reason...i want that teacher to be fired or else she is going nowhere...she showed me nothing but abuse the way she talks and treat the student.Dr. MESA you have to be gone tooo..instead of helping students you are not deciding for the teacher...your not even thinking who to hire....

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (13)



    submit review

    Reviews Disclaimer: GetDegrees.com makes reviews freely available via this site. The views and opinions expressed by users do not reflect the views and opinions of GetDegrees.com. GetDegrees.com expressly disclaims any and all liability in connection with the content of any reviews.

    Want More Information about American Career College?

    To receive more information about the degree programs offered by American Career College, simply click the request school info button and complete the short form.

    Request School Info

    Related Searches

  • request school info