dcsimg
You are here:
Matching School Ad

American Career College Reviews

There are currently 35 reviews of American Career College

 
  • School Reviews
  • Request School Info submit review
    American Career College
    Sort By:
    • Reviewed by: Unknown U, Certificate in on March 28th, 2011
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      The American Career College in Ontario, ca is the worst college I have ever attended in my entire life. The curriculum does not meet the standards of other school, the clinical sites are not accepticle for the LVN level and even the sites are embarrassed for the school. I can not speak for the other programs, only the LVN program. Not just my class, but every single LVN class that has attended is disappointed at their experience. The sadness is that the Director of Nursing is so obsessed with control and dress code that she can care less what the students are being taught or if they are even happy. I wish I could have been informed of this unprofessional and over priced program before I decided to add this level of stress and disrespect to my life. If you want to become an LVN then more power to you, but please please please do not GO TO AMERICAN CAREER COLLEGE ONTARIO!!!!!!

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (22)

    • Reviewed by: ST S, Associate in on February 15th, 2011
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      $35,000.00 for the Surgical Tech program!?! ST students do not have access to the lab to practice because we are not adult enough to be in the lab unsupervised. But, we as paying students are required by our instructors to clean the lab from top to bottom while paying 35,000.00! BEWARE! Very unprofessional Program Director, she has staff fired so that she can bring her friends in as instructors. Lab instructors always in competition over who is correct in proper technique, and who is in control of the lab. One lab instructor likes to be-little students, and has on several occasion's used vulgar language towards students. This instructor was banned from the lab when certain students were present, but that didn't last long. DO NOT waste your money on ACC if you/re thinking about enrolling. If you have already made the mistake of enrolling like I have, don't bother going to ANYONE within ACC with concerns or complaints, nothing will be done. Contact the California Board of Education.

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (17)

    • Reviewed by: Patricia T, in on February 13th, 2011
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      The first thing in your research of nursing schools is to check out the State Board of Nursing to check out their credentials. Most states have websites that list all the schools and what percent passed the NCLEX exam. In California the best schools were the public schools (ie. community colleges, adult programs, ROP etc.). The public schools overall outperformed the private schools (American Career College, West Coast College etc.) in the percent of students passing the NCLEX. No matter what an institution says about how fancy they are or there is no "waiting list", if they can't provide materials and instructors to prepare you for the NCLEX then don't waste your money, in the case of me going to Lynwood Adult School LVN program I paid $3,400 in tuition, American Career College at the time was $38,000 - I passed the NCLEX the first time with the computer cutting me off at 85 questions. Another thing, if you do not take responsibility and study (read and review books, handouts, videos) you will not pass the NCLEX. Most of what you learn in nursing school is cumulative and "cramming" a week before the NCLEX isn't wise since you will have to pay $350 to take the test again. The instructors are nurses and will NOT hold your hand. They are looking at you as a future co-worker and if you can handle the workload. Good luck!

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (18)

    • Reviewed by: bob s, Certificate in on February 9th, 2011
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I am attending this school right now for the VN program. it was great at first, then took a turn for the worse. an instructor gave all the answers to three tests, including a final. ended up firing her, then we got stuck with 4 subs for the next 4 weeks. only one sub actually knew his stuff and i would say is the best instructor and the only good person out of that entire school (Mr. Matus) we were given 3 wrong exams and they didn't do anything about it. they dropped some questions here and there but it didn't help the class at all. the whole class is failing the system they are currently in because of them being disorganized and teaching us the wrong stuff. Teachers are teaching wrong material, clinical instructors are telling you to push the meds by G-Tube (big no-no). very unfriendly staff, only few are nice and makes you wonder why they would work for such a horrible school. the ADON likes to think that its the students fault for not studying enough, not taking any responsibility for the fact they gave 3 wrong exams and gave us 4 different teachers each week. they don't care at all. will be making a call to corporate, but not really expect them to do much either. all that matters to them is that they pocket the $35,000 from each student...if I'd have known this before, definitely would NOT have attended this school and do NOT recommend it. can't wait to get out and a job ASAP. gonna burn my scrubs from ACC when I'm finished!

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (17)

    • Reviewed by: acc student c, Associate in on January 27th, 2011
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      ACC Anaheim is the WORST LVN Eduction and has the WORST Staff as in the Directors! All they care about is school ratings and about bringing in the MONEY! Every student is looked at as a walking piece of paper, see the $ signs in their eyes. They dont care about the students nor do they even get to know the students and who they are by name. The only time you hear from the directors is when they come in to the class and threaten to kick out students because of this and that. They also throw in rules not written in the policy. Put down the people who had to be recycled. Dont care about if you have family issues. They fire the good teachers because they cant control them and make them do what they want or teach how they want them to teach. They dont let the students know anything. They say its none of our business but yet we are the one paying for our education! At admissions their job is to reel you in not telling you that if you have tattoos, jewlery such as wedding ring, wear makeup, have work, you need to not have all of those things. Its when you get in to the program and the money starts accumulating to where you have to start paying that the directors come in and YELL at you for being who you are and having what you have. VERY BAD SCHOOL

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (10)

    • Reviewed by: DON'T CHOOSE THE LVN CLASS A, Master in lvn-to-bsn-nursing on January 19th, 2011
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      ACC ONTARIO'S LVN CLASS IS HORRIBLE!!!!!TERM 4 HAD ABOUT 50-60 STUDENTS AND HAVING ABOUT 10 GRADUATING.... INSTRUCTORS ARE QUITTING AT CLINICAL SITES SAYING THAT THEY WOULD RATHER WORK FOR HAPPIER PEOPLE.....THE NEW INSTRUCTORS AGREE THAT WE ARE BEING CHEATED ON SCHOOL, BUT CAN'T DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT......THE NEW TERM ONE CLASS HAS 2011 UP TO DATE BOOKS WHILE WE GET THE 2008 BOOKS.....OUR TERM ONE TEACHER SUCKED AT TEACHING SHE GOT PUT TO A TERM 4 CLINICAL INSTRUCTOR......THEY ARE RUDE......THEY WILL DO ANYTHING TO KEEP YOUR BOTTOMS GLUED TO THOSE SEATS B/C THEY WANT YOUR $!!!!!!!GO TO A COLLEGE WHERE THEY WILL TEACH YOU....THEY DON'T TEACH YOU HERE....OUR TEACHER IN TERM 1 SAID IN THE REAL HOSPITAL WORLD, YOUR NOT ALLOWED TO MISSPELL ANYTHING, SHE WAS MISSPELLING EVERYTHING ON OUR POWERPOINTS...... SOME INSTRUCTORS ON SITE BELIEVE WE ARE CHEATED B/C WE DON'T HAVE A MATH, AN ANATOMY, AND PHYSIOLOGY CLASS......WE DON'T EVEN GO OVER MEDICAL TERMS IN CLASS, AND WE ARE EXPECTED TO KNOW HOW TO SAY THEM......WE DON'T GO OVER MATH AND OUR SCHOOL ISN'T ON THE SAME PAGE.......EVERY INSTRUCTOR HAS THEIR OWN WAY OF TEACHING AND WE GET TOLD WE ARE DOING WRONG WHEN WE HAVE 5 DIFFERENT INSTRUCTORS WE HAVE TO TALK TO.....MRS BARRET IS FAKE.....DON'T BELIEVE HER FAKE INNOCENT VOICE......SHE PUT HER FINGER IN A TEACHERS FACE B/C A TEACHER LET HER STUDENTS GO 15-20MIN EARLY.......THE SCHOOL IS GETTING WORSE....AND THE LAST 3 TERMS WARNED US ON THE FIRST WEEK.....YOU'RE BETTER OFF ELSEWHERE

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (20)

    • Reviewed by: Maria A, in on January 6th, 2011
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I did my homework and did not end up attending ACC, thank GOD! In the beginning the advisor that contacted me made me feel warm and fuzzy about attending the school. I decided to take a tour and then was told I should take the medical assisting program first since I don't have any medical background. When I declined she continued to push that program. She then asked me to take the tests that day although I had already told her I was shopping around and hadn't picked a school yet. She was pushy and it made me feel uncomfortable. After digging deeper and doing research about this school and hearing all the negative feedback I called her and told her it wasn't the school for me. She was VERY rude and hung up on me. If you don't mind being a number and treated badly then this is the school for you but for the money you are better off going somewhere that has better customer service and a better passing rate. They will say anything to get you in the door and they rush you, a RED FLAG for me. If you're treated that way before even attending the school I could only imagine how they treat you once you are enrolled. Don't make hasty decisions just to get your degree in a hurry! Spontaneity is not a good thing when it comes to going to school and your future! And that's why these counselors try to rush you though, so you don't have time to think about it and realize its a bad decision. Its about the SALE for them and not about what is BEST for you!!!!

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (19)

    • Reviewed by: ALUMNI A, Certificate in on November 23rd, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      WELL THEY NEED STOP FALSE ADVERTISEMENT. I FOUND MY OWN JOB THANK YOU VERY MUCH. AND AS FAR AS RECEIVING A HIGH SCHOOL DIPLOMA IN THE 80S, WOOOOW, I AINT THAT OLD. YEAH I LEARNED WHAT I COULD, BUT THANKS TO ME AND ME ONLY I NOW HAVE A CAREER.

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (7)

    • Reviewed by: Alumni A, in on October 18th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I STUDIED THE MEDICAL BILLING PROGRAM IN THE LOS ANGELES CAMPUS. I COMPLETED ALL OF MY COURSES. MY EXTERNSHIP WAS SUPPOSE TO BE COMPLETED BACK IN JULY OF 2010. BUT I DIDNT FINISHED TILL SEPTEMBER. THATS ALL THANKS TO THE COORDINATOR THAT SENT ME FROM PLACE TO PLACE BECAUSE EVERYWHERE THAT SHE SENT ME WAS NOT OFFERING ENOUGH HOURS. SO HERE I AM WELL INTO SEPTEMBER, AND I STILL DONT HAVE A JOB. IM VERY DISAPPOINTED BECAUSE ALL THE MONEY THAT WAS SPENT TO GET TO AND FROM SCHOOL, NOT TO MENTION OUR TUITION. EVEN THOUGH I HAD A GOOD INSTRUCTOR AND LEARNED ALOT, I STILL FEEL THE SCHOOL IS OUT TO GET PEOPLES MONEY. THATS WHY I DONT RECOMEND ACC TO ANY ONE. IM NOT THE ONLY ONE EITHER, SO FAR, ALMOST EVERY ONE THAT I KNOW HASNT GOTTEN HIRED.. JOB PLACEMENT MY A**

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (9)

    • Reviewed by: V H, Associate in on September 30th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      ACC ONTARIO IS A HORRIBLE SCHOOL. I DO NOT RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE THEY HAVE INSTRUCTORS THAT NEVER TAUGHT BEFORE THEY HAVE 3 VN PROGRAMS GOING ON RIGHT NOW THAT THEY CANNOT HANDLE, THEY ARE SHORT CLINICAL INSTRUCTORS AND THEORY. THE DON IS A CREAP BALL SHE TALKS IN YOUR FACE SO CLOSE YOU CAN SMELL HER BREATH, AND THEY TREAT YOU LIKE A CHILD. THE CLINICAL INSTRUCTORS ARE BIAS UNFAIR AND VERY UNPERFESSIONAL. EXPECT TO DO CNA MORNING CARE THROUGHOUT THE ENTIRE PROGRAM BEING THAT THEY ARE MINIMAL OF CLINICAL SITES. A LOT OF THE TESTS THEY GIVE DO NOT MATCH WITH THE BOOKS, THEY DO NOT TEACH YOU, YOU TEACH YOURSELF, THEY KICK YOU OUT FOR MORE THAN 3 ABSENTS, THEY WRITE YOU UP IF YOU DO NOT WEAR LONG WHITE SOCKS WHITE UNDER SHIRT OR WHITE UNDERWEAR..... IT'S BOOT CAMP FOR NURSES BUT NO ONE GRADUATES AND THE ONES THAT DO CAN'T FIND WORK... HMMM ARE THEY REALLY ACCREDITED? IF SO HOW? DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY I PROMISE YOU WILL BE DISAPPOINTED. AS FOR THE STUDENTS THEY ACT LIKE A BUNCH OF CRY BABIES. THEY NEED TO GROW UP AND CUT THE DRAMA THIS IS NOT HIGHSCHOOL SO THEY NEED TO STOP ACTING THAT WAY AND THE STAFF NEEDS TO STOP TREATING PEOPLE THAT WAY. ONLY GOOD THING ABOUT ACC ONTARIO VN PROGRAM IS MR. ROWE AND MISS HASTINGS, THATS IT...

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (11)



    submit review

    Reviews Disclaimer: GetDegrees.com makes reviews freely available via this site. The views and opinions expressed by users do not reflect the views and opinions of GetDegrees.com. GetDegrees.com expressly disclaims any and all liability in connection with the content of any reviews.

    Want More Information about American Career College?

    To receive more information about the degree programs offered by American Career College, simply click the request school info button and complete the short form.

    Request School Info

    Related Searches

  • request school info