dcsimg
You are here:
Matching School Ad

Baker College Online Reviews

There are currently 21 reviews of Baker College Online

 
  • School Reviews
  • Request School Info submit review
    Baker College Online
    Sort By:
    • Reviewed by: Mar J on April 9th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I graduated Baker College in 2005 with BBA degree. I have to say it's great college, with lots of challenges. The experience was very valuable. I loved having students in my class from all over the country, and even overseas. The classes were intensive, and required lot of reading and research.

      Highly recommend Baker College.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (2)

    • Reviewed by: Laura T on February 28th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      Do not bother with Baker. I spent $9500 taking their 11 required prerequisites before I was allowed to take their NET test. The catalogue says you need a B- in your courses & a 50 on the NET test to be considered for the program. There about 400 people a year who apply at the Clinton Twp Michigan campus & they only accept 80 people a year, which by the way is not mentioned in the catalouge. You find out before you take the NET test. You can only transfer in 25 credits from another college. You can only take the NET twice, at a community college you can take the test as many times as you need to get a good score. If you do not make it in after the second time you take the NET test, they might allow you to apply for a third time. You are not told what your ranking was. At a community college they will. Baker does not tell you upfront what the average GPA & NET score of the people who make the program is, a community college will. I talked to six people who made into the Baker program & they all had 80 on the NET & 4.0 GPA's. I had a 3.83 GPA & scored 74 on the NET. I though for sure I was going to make it because of what Baker required for the program. However, I did make it into a community college nursing program, which required my taking A&P, English & psychology. Also in 2009, I received a letter stating the Baker Clinton twp campus had lost their accredidation. In the Baker catalogue it says they are accredited. Additionally, Baker only allows a student to apply to just one campus. You cannot apply simutaneously to other campus's nursing programs. And if transfer the the 11 Baker prerequisites to a community college, 4 or 5 of the Baker classses are considered core classes, the rest of the courses are electives. Bottom line, save your money, & go to a community college, you have a better chance of getting in & that $9500.00 will pay for the two years.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (12)

    • Reviewed by: niki P on October 29th, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      Here is my review of Baker,
      Well I am a student who already holds a Bachelors Degree in Engineering and went back to school via Baker for a Bachelors in Web Development because I wanted to learn, now that is where the irony comes in. I didn't need this degree, because an Engineering Degree qualifies me for jobs in this area as long as I can show a portfolio. The first thing that surprised me is that all there is to Baker College is that you read textbooks, homework is from the same text book and that's it. First, to succeed online you have to be motivated and dedicated, so if you have that motivation why cant you learn on your own? What I find is that during the six weeks, you are too busy completing homework that you may not learn much. I can see how other programs may work out but in Technology classes its not easy to grasp the full concept if you have to keep worrying about turning homework in, answering discussion questions, participation etc. So, that's where the joke is on me, I enrolled to learn but spend less time learning and more time just getting homework in. Many of the teachers they have are not proficient in the classes they instruct and this comes out in the way they respond to class questions. As a result many of them are not active in the participation and depend on the students to teach each other and answer other students questions, and ironically these are the instructors that grade the hardest and have no grace period with assignments. its like they are trying to make up for their lack of credentials by being overly difficult in grading. Also the textbooks that Baker College uses are out to date and that's a no-no with programming classes. They have you buy current software and then have you buy a textbook for the outdated version of the software and now you have a mismatched book, and still no sympathy from the instructor. Now, why do I need to attend Baker College when I can buy a more up to date and current text book, one that has a good market feedback and join one of those free programming communities. Now, I can focus on learning and stop killing myself to meet Baker College ridiculous schedule. After all you have to teach yourself at Baker College and many instructors are not conscientious of that. Instead they tell you that if you cant learn that way then taking classes online is not for you. I mean come on!! My advice to you, if you don't need a degree don't attend Baker College. The forced assignments will not make you learn as that is what I thought. If you are thinking about Web Development you only need a good portfolio anyway which Baker College will not make you get. You should have seen the crappy website that I made after one class that they wanted me to add to my portfolio, what a joke. You ca do better than Baker, expect little help and expect that 50% of the instructors are probably less knowledgeable than YOU in the subject that they instruct. Free online communities, here I come!

      OH, FYI, I have a straight 4.0 so my concerns are honest and has nothing to do with my inability to excel at baker!

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (13)

    • Reviewed by: Shaun C on October 14th, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      From my experiences with Baker I've found that they have an intense program for the online students. You get out of it what you put into it. If you’re looking to just coast through classes I’d say you’re looking in the wrong place if you’re looking at Baker. It’s not setup for people who don’t want to participate in the class and the grades generally reflect that. The classes are flexible yet demanding and I felt a good sense of accomplishment when I completed a class. The professors usually did a good job of laying out what they expected of you through out the course. The assignments were usually pretty clear and if you ran into problems they would usually work with you so long as you worked with them. Again, you get out of it what you put into it and this is even more relevant with online degrees. Don’t be fooled into thinking that just because it’s an online program that it’s going to be a cakewalk. I really enjoyed my time with Baker and would recommend them to anyone who is serious about pursuing an online degree.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (6)

    • Reviewed by: Shaun C on October 13th, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      From my experiences with Baker I've found that they have an intense program for the online students. You get out of it what you put into it. If you’re looking to just coast through classes I’d say you’re looking in the wrong place if you’re looking at Baker. It’s not setup for people who don’t want to participate in the class and the grades generally reflect that. The classes are flexible yet demanding and I felt a good sense of accomplishment when I completed a class. The professors usually did a good job of laying out what they expected of you through out the course. The assignments were usually pretty clear and if you ran into problems they would usually work with you so long as you worked with them. Again, you get out of it what you put into it and this is even more relevant with online degrees. Don’t be fooled into thinking that just because it’s an online program that it’s going to be a cakewalk. I really enjoyed my time with Baker and would recommend them to anyone who is serious about pursuing an online degree.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (3)

    • Reviewed by: Nadia K on July 25th, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I have nothing but good things to say about Baker College. It is an awesome school. One of the reasons I chose Baker is because I wanted to go to an online school that has a brick and mortar institution as well; this was one of the best decisions of my life. The biggest issue that many people have with Baker is that it is time consuming and the work is HARD. In fact, it is as hard as the work at some well known Universities, and this is NO JOKE. Many students don't expect this from a Career College. A degree from Baker will take time to complete and it will be challenging; however, if you are dedicated to learning, and are a SERIOUS student you will do great. I am going for my degree in Health Services Administration and I graduate in Spring 2010. I would return for my Masters in a heart beat- but they don't offer the program that I want. Baker College is DEFINITELY worth checking into.

      ***To Linda S: As far as financial aid is concerned you are going to lose your financial aid at ANY college if you don't complete at least 2/3 of the hours attempted. It is a government requirement for school's receiving financial aid! This information is stated numerous times on Baker's web site and in literature regarding financial aid eligibility, it's not up to the school to tell you, that is the student's responsibility to already know!***

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (2)

    • Reviewed by: Jade S on July 24th, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I attended Baker College Online to complete my general prerequisites, since it is cheaper to do so at a community college. The online program was amazing. If you dedicate yourself and stay focused, it is easy to succeed with just a few hours each evening, 5 days a week. The professors are all very nice and intelligent. They are quick to respond to any questions the students have. I received better communication from my professors at this school than I did in a face to face setting. I also like the entire enrollment process. The staff in all departments is always available when you need them, no time spent on hold. You can call or email about anything that might need to be done and they respond right away. I prefer emailing, and completed most of my enrollment this way, with no snags along the way. This was the most enjoyable school I've ever attended, and only wish they offered my degree program. If they did I would stay with them until graduation! A+ for Baker College Online!

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (2)

    • Reviewed by: Linda S on July 2nd, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      Baker College dropped me from my financial aid, stating that I did not complete 2/3 of the hours that I attempted. I did not know about this rule and I realized that I could not take Macroeconomics online. So I went to a traditional school and earned a A in the class. My overall GPA at Baker is a 3.9. So how can you drop me from financial aid. Well, to say the least they did. Then they suggested for me to file an appeal. Whatever. I will find a school that will take all my classes that I take into consideration and not just the ones that I take at their school because it was still in the fiscal year. Also, some of the Baker instructors hide information in the discussion board and other areas and expect you to find it. Maybe its just me, but I need to know what I need to do and I will give it my best shot. I do not wish to waste time looking for what I need to be doing while I can be doing it. Skip Baker and look for another school.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (0)

    • Reviewed by: Leona A on June 30th, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I graduated Baker Online in 1997. My personal success attributes to gaining a degree. Prior to attending, I earned $40K, after, 65-120K. Following my most stellar year, I was laid off. I have returned to Baker, hoping the magic works again.
      Be sure that you are willing to commit the time for an online degree. It takes a very, very high commitment level. Going online is much harder than campus. I have done both extensively, and I speak from experience.
      Baker is a good school. I have had problems with fincial aid as well, but suspect that is a situation that exists elsewhere, as well. It is complicated, and requires YOU to follow up and follow through. It is your education.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (1)

    • Reviewed by: Gina C on May 23rd, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      My husband attended Baker College in MI, and it was a nightmare...the college sent off his application for his student loan, they sent it in late, and then, of course, they wanted a couple thousand dollars to pay for it- the reason for the student loan was because, obviously, we didn't have a couple thousand dollars laying around, and not only did they refuse to admit their fault, but he was sent to collections, and then the phone calls started- it was unbelievable. I can't imagine an office, an actual business, run that badly-

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (3)



    submit review

    Reviews Disclaimer: GetDegrees.com makes reviews freely available via this site. The views and opinions expressed by users do not reflect the views and opinions of GetDegrees.com. GetDegrees.com expressly disclaims any and all liability in connection with the content of any reviews.

    Want More Information about Baker College Online?

    To receive more information about the degree programs offered by Baker College Online, simply click the request school info button and complete the short form.

    Request School Info

    Related Searches

  • request school info