You are here:
Matching School Ad

Colorado Technical University Reviews

There are currently 16 reviews of Colorado Technical University

 
  • School Reviews
  • Request School Info submit review
    Colorado Technical University
    Sort By:
    • Reviewed by: Blane T on January 20th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      Write a brief review of your experience with Colorado Technical University Online (200 words or less)...Blane T.I am a former student of CTU my expirence was great I obtained my Associates Degree in criminal justice May 2009. The assignments were very demanding at times but it was worth it. As with any school, online or brick and mortar you will run into problems with the administration. Online learning is not for the weak you must be self motivated to accomplish the course material and accept the challenge to overcome any obstacles that may come between you and a quality education. I plan on returning to CTU to obtain my Bachelors Degree in criminal justice, this makes me more marketable when seeking employment in a sluggish economy, it feels wonderful to be a college grad.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (2)

    • Reviewed by: Mark O on December 29th, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I just finished with my Associates in Information Technology with a concentration in Software Engineering, with a 3.97 gpa. All I can say is Whew! What a ride. The expectations were high and the course work was very challenging. I finished my ASIT in 2 years. I tried the accelerated pace but did not have a life so I backed down and only took one class per course. Glad I did, it really made the difference. I was able to drop two classes, computer crashed, and picked right back up where I left off. The staff at CTUO was very accommodating, but as a paying student, I set my course schedule not the school. I was very firm and I let the school know how I was going to run my education. There are many institutions that will gladly take my money, so if CTUO wanted it, they were going to have to work with my schedule, not theirs. Comparing colleges is no different than comparing high schools. Each institution gets money, either from the state or from private contributors. I did not take my high school education serious and paid the price for it. I went to a brick and mortar college when I got out of the Army and did well with a 3.0 gpa in Advanced Computer Graphics. I wanted to learn more and signed at CTUO, and am doing well. CTU is not MIT it is a private college offering different levels of degrees for anyone who can cut the mustard which is no different than MIT or Colorado University for that matter. I have been in my profession for many years and worked with people with degrees from just about every state and many different countries, and believe me, many of them did not impress me. I also worked with many people who did not attend college at all and are the best at what they do. Since I am in the nuclear research industry, that says a lot. You sow what you reap. CTUO has many great instructors and a few I would not hire to teach my eleven year old, just like in high school and other colleges I attended, yes I attended many college course while in the Army. There will always be inadequate instructors but if you are reading this post, and you are searching for a college to attend online, do your research. Find the college that fits your personality, CTU is not the only school out there that offer solid degrees. CTU fit my schedule and they were cheaper than DeVry or University of Pheonix and other reputable colleges. The school also fit my personality. Finding a school is very important, more importantly your education should be worth the time it takes to find the perfect school for you. I have learned a lot at CTUO and I was frustrated with the pace at times but like life itself, you will always feel like there is greener grass on the other side of the fence. My suggestion is, stop looking at the other side of the fence and live life to the fullest with no regrets and just do it, get it done and hang the degree on your wall and move on to the next adventure! And by the way, get everything in writing! I did and it paid off!! If the counselors at CTUO promise you anything, make sure they send it via an e-mail or document before you sign anything. It works like a charm!

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (6)

    • Reviewed by: William S on December 27th, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I am student of CTUO and will graduate in 03/10. I do get the run around sometimes, as I feel the school has a high turnover of employees. They do sell to you, and will respond to you is a timely manner, they do have students all over the world. No one is going to take care of anything for you, execpt you. Some teachers are less than average, but get on them and get the school involved, and save your emails, this will save you some hassle. The school is about critical thinking, and exploring. Call them as much as they call you if you have issues. Speak up, defend yourself, and have documentation, and be civil and polite and they will take care of it.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (2)

    • Reviewed by: Anonymous J on December 10th, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      Wow, first off I have to say some of these reviews sound so fake. I know a sales pitch when I hear one. So here's a real review from me and some feedback to other people's review. You can get a degree in 15 months. But that's accelerated, you can also decide to do it in 30 months. 5 week courses, and most people including me, do two at a time. That's turns out to 15 months including the time off between courses. I finished my associates and I am now working on my bachelors. Yes, they are somewhat naggy (calls all the time) and pushy (you'll hear the same pitch from them all) but don't make your decision based on that. You go if you want the degree, and want to do it online. For me, the work was somewhat easy. They hold live chats (video and text) twice a week for each course, and discuss the assignments in detail (they also archive the chat so if you can't make it, you can always watch it and take notes when you have time). I only attended like 3 or 4 chats of the 15 moths and got a 3.0 gpa. This was in business administration, IT was too frustrating so I switched. Sometimes the teachers can be a little hard and expect to much from you (probably because they feel majority of the student are older and have experience in the field already) but now I attend the chats and it really does help. You use to get about 10 days between courses but now it's 2-3 days, and then 10 days then 2-3 days and just keeps rotating like that. One person was saying that they were dismissed. Sometimes you have to go to the syllabus and task list in the class room for new courses or it will not show you as logging in and so they might kick you because your last day attended has not been updated and they think you are not logging in anymore. Maybe this was not the case for you, but maybe it was. The girl who is saying she just received her bachelors in nov 08 and is getting her masters in 09 is full of sh!t and probably trying to make a sale. Each degree is 15 months so there is no way you would even get it in 09. The thing you should really think about (I thought about it too late) is will you be able to make real good connections that can get you a job, since everyone is online and doesn't live in your local area. If you go to a local university you can make friends and some connections and they can help you get jobs and move one up because you will know people, but you won't be able to do that with an online school because everyone you meet is usually very far form you. And YES I do have to rely on search engines a lot, but some courses you do get a textbook in the mail and other courses are ebooks which I don't like. You can view them online, print them out at home or put them on Sony reader, or anything else that can view such documents(I'm pretty sure they're in pdf format). Personally, I like CTU. Would I recommend it? Not to everyone. I get what I want and fast. I jumped right in after finishing high school, so if I stay on track, I will have my masters when I'm 21. I just hope I can get the job since I don't have any job experience as of now. Also if you just want an idea of how your schedule would be if you did go, here's mine: I get two assignemts a week from each course(2 at a time). So that's four assignments a week(usually 2 discussion boards (usually 300-500 words )and 2 individual projects (1000 words or power point or 3-4 pages, really not that hard once you get used to it)). So it's two assignment from monday to friday and 2 more from fridays to monday. I do one on thursday and the other on due date, and one again on sunday and the other on monday. that's fours days of work and three days to myself (sometimes there are the chats on my free days and I just take some notes, and that's it, i have a layout of what I'm going to do and I'm done for the day.) It's really not too hard, sometimes I will save my two assignment for the last day and do them both on the due date. Hope this helps

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (4)

    • Reviewed by: Chris D on November 19th, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      Like an earlier post said... you get what you put into it..... Are they a bit pushy about signing up? yes....... is this institution doing this to make money..... of course........ am I going to get a degree out of it? .... yes.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (1)

    • Reviewed by: Dennis B on November 13th, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      As a current student of CTU Online and former student of Thiel College Greenville, PA & ETI Technical College Niles, OH; I find CTU Online to contain up to date comprehensive material for technical classes and liberal arts classes. I have been able to modify my schedule to accommodate my personal needs and have been taught by instructors whom are associated with successful corporations. The online environment is comparable to the brick and mortar schools I have previously attended and students must have the desire to learn to be sucessful at any school. I would recommend CTU Online to anyone.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (1)

    • Reviewed by: Jen W on September 9th, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I totally agree that this is one of the best online schools that there is. I left for about 3 months to go to Kaplan (to try for a more specific degree) and it was an absolute nightmare. I've never had any problems when I was trying to withdraw the first time either. Another thing is, you don't need your teacher to hold your hand to give you your assignment, its written on the page what, when, and how you need to do your homework, its not that complicated. From what I've read, you need to take at least 4 classes per year to stay enrolled, which is barely halftime in my opinion, so obviously you weren't enrolled full time, or you were failing all of your classes.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (3)

    • Reviewed by: Tena H on June 27th, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I want to respond because of Jim R's assertion that other reviewers are paid by the University. I received my Bachelor's in November 2008 and will get my Master's in 2009. I don't work for CTU, but hope to be able to teach online for them or another school upon graduation. I have been happy with the education I have received thus far. You have to work hard to do well. This is no bogus program. Be prepared to work hard for this degree.

      As far as being dismissed for slow progress, even brick and mortar schools have a limit to how long you can continue to matriculate before your previous classes are no longer valid to the degree. It may be that CTU dismissed, you Jim, because they get evaluated based upon graduation rates within a certain time period. However, if you were taking at least one class per session which works out to two per semester (half time), I don't believe you should have been dismissed.

      At any rate, this is an excellent on-line program where you will get a very valuable education. It is one of the best decisions I ever made to attend this school!

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (0)

    • Reviewed by: Tasha E on January 6th, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I have had for the most part, a wonderful experience at CTU Online. I have recently graduated with my associates and this is where I will continue through to my PHD in Business Administration. They are critical when it comes to your success and the student advising team is awesome! The faculty at CTU Online will do everything they can to assist you in your goals and assists in online learning labs to better benefit the outcome of your education. The online CTU Cybrary has every credible resource available and the librarians are prompt with tons of information when you are unable to find what you need for any subject. The financial aid for under graduates give you wonderful rates and are reasonable. Their academics are challenging and are truly rewarding. You will certainly gain vital information to further your education and careers. Last but not least, there are many professors who have written acknowledgments to their students' success on an individual basis; I find it rewarding when I recieve them and it certainly boosts your self esteem. Thank you CTU ONLINE!

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (0)

    • Reviewed by: Caleb O on November 20th, 2008
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I heard nothing but good things about CTUO before, and it really rang true. The courses are challenging, the professors are great for the most part, and I really feel like I earned my degree.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (0)



    submit review

    Reviews Disclaimer: GetDegrees.com makes reviews freely available via this site. The views and opinions expressed by users do not reflect the views and opinions of GetDegrees.com. GetDegrees.com expressly disclaims any and all liability in connection with the content of any reviews.

    Want More Information about Colorado Technical University?

    To receive more information about the degree programs offered by Colorado Technical University, simply click the request school info button and complete the short form.

    Request School Info

    Related Searches

  • request school info