You are here:
Matching School Ad

Colorado Technical University Reviews

There are currently 16 reviews of Colorado Technical University

 
  • School Reviews
  • Request School Info submit review
    Colorado Technical University
    Sort By:
    • Reviewed by: Laci S, Bachelor in web-development-degrees on March 17th, 2012
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      Firstly, I was going through several schools trying to find one that had a cost vs quality view... These people discouraged me from going with another school I wanted to go with. I was told false information from this school regarding their tuition and kept being told as soon as I pay the $50 enrollment fee THEN they could transfer me to someone who could tell me more about financial aid... when I found out what the actual cost of their college was I was upset because I had been lied to. Then, after I voiced this and signed up for another school, several "authorities" for this school called me and assured me that the first thing they told me was correct and the financial aid person got information incorrect. I went ahead and went with them because the class outline did look great and supportive in the simulation the advisor showed me through. Well, they lied again... bait and hook... not only was the financial aid info incorrect but the classroom was completely different. THEN I ask for help from the instructor and she was very rude... someone calls me today and was even MORE rude about it. DO NOT GO TO THIS SCHOOL IT IS A COMPLETE RIPOFF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (0)

    • Reviewed by: Chad T, Bachelor in on July 28th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      Wow so many bad things to say about my experience at CTU. I realized after six months of attending CTU on-line that is a scam. These people should be ashamed of themselves for wasting tax payer money. I have found a newspaper article that anyone planning on attending any of these ridiculous on-line schools like CTU, ITT Tech, Westwood College or university of Phoenix, ECT... should read. It is titled In Hard Times Lured into Trade School and Debt. By: Peter S. Goodman. The New York Times, March 15, 2010. This article explains exactly what these types of phony schools are up to. http://finance.yahoo.com/college-education/article/109081/in-hard-times-lured-into-trade-school-and-debt
      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V122ICNS8_0
      I found CTU On-Line to be a miserable experience. The on-line class environment is a joke. All the instructors do is read you a book over the internet. Listening to the instructors just read you a book over the Internet was intolerable and boring. The instructors would never answer any questions, saying that they had to finish reading the required material in these live chats ("class sessions"). The assignments that some of the instructors posted were stolen from other schools internet sites word for word. I found this out by googling the key words of assignments and found the exact same words for assignments on other schools web sites. The instructors say you can e-mail them for help "since you can’t ask questions during the live chats”, but good luck getting a timely response. Most live on-line chat sessions I attended at this "school" had very few participants; maybe three out of forty people participated on average. The chats are recorded but that's even more intolerable and boring than listening to the live sessions.

      The instructors would have you grade and comment on other student’s papers. This was a joke because most of the papers sucked and I didn’t want to be the one to tell these people they had no clue what they were writing about. Most of the student responses would only be a few sentences like, nice work on your paper I found it interesting. This really was not helpful at all and a complete waste of time.

      The instructor’s comments for grades were basically the same, consisting of only a few sentences that really didn’t help me learn anything at all or correct my mistakes or clear up any confusing material. Most of the time the instructors would use the cop out that you can find everything you need on the internet, what a joke.
      They (CTU) have this thing called group assignments were you team up with others from all over the country to do assignments together. This never worked because of different schedules and time zones. I was the only one most of the time that would even try to get the group to work together. It never did go very well though.

      The APA style writing they push on you was a joke too. Every instructor had different interpretations of what APA was and nobody I talked to or even myself ever had much luck writing "correct" APA format.

      I was getting A's and helping other students out with programming concepts and Java code writing. If you attend this school you had better love sitting in front of the computer forever. The college algebra class came and myself and allot of other students were struggling and trying to find help, but there was none. I was spending 30 hours a week doing all these things and feeling like I was wasting my time and money.

      I learned more about computers from my own studies than the classes provided. Most students in my classes were so lost that I spent most of my time trying to help them make sense of the garbage the school was presenting.
      I really think that you should choose a school carefully and ones that advertise on the TV or radio usually aren't very good. I got out after $9000.00 in total charges after like six months and six worthless classes. I would have been better off investing that money in any other way rather than trying CTU.

      The admissions people are quite the sales talkers. They called me constantly for two weeks straight to get me to pay the $50 application fee and start my FASFA papers so they could get paid as soon as possible. What a joke that school will pass anyone through the courses so they can collect the easy money their stealing from government loans.

      I think people should attend a class room based school with hands on training. That's really the only realistic way to go. Who wants a bunch of Internet trained cops, engineers or doctors working with them, I know I wouldn’t. I would advise you to ask the HR department of a place you would like to work were they have their employees trained and go to those classes. I have taken company sponsored classes that got me certificates that increased my pay and value to the companies I was working for. Hope this helps and good luck in your search for a school

      I believe this school will accept anyone for their programs just to collect the easy money from the government loans they are stealing from. The fifty dollar application fee is just feel good tactic. Anyone who applies to this school will be accepted. Seriously DONT ATTEND THIS SCHOOL, YOU WILL JUST END UP IN BIG TIME DEBT WITH NO SKILLS TO PAY THE BILLS. Now I’m so mad because I was a MORON for believing this "school" was going to improve my education and job options.
      DONT GET SUCKERED IN LIKE I DID, I KNOW I WOULD HAVE BEEN BETTER OFF INVESTING THAT MONEY IN ANY OTHER WAY. My E-mail is mchadtipton@yahoo.com and if you want more explanation of what I experienced I would be happy to save you from the worst (AND MOST COSTLY) decision of your life, attending Colorado Technical University On-line.

      The grade I would give CTU on-line is 50% or an F.

      These are my responses I put together that I have sent to others answering their questions about CTU on-line. I am glad to advise you what I experienced at CTU and hope it helps you make a wise decision. In my years of working towards advancement in my careers I have found that state, government and corporate certifications are the most rewarding classes to take. I have taken classes for certifications in bridge inspecting, construction materials testing and auto repair. All of these types of training experiences where the most rewarding and the most beneficial in the short run. I would suggest again that you consider calling a company human resources representative that you would like to work for and ask them where they send their employees for training. Generally these types of certifications are grounded in real world job use full information and training that results in immediate raises and job security.

      Hope this helps you to make a good decision and best of luck to you.

      So believe me this school isn’t worth the money and that’s why I answer all inquires sent to me about CTU. I do this because I truly believe I am helping people make a well informed decision. I am happy to answer any questions anyone may have my email is mchadtipton@yahoo.com

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (3)

    • Reviewed by: Blane T on January 20th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      Write a brief review of your experience with Colorado Technical University Online (200 words or less)...Blane T.I am a former student of CTU my expirence was great I obtained my Associates Degree in criminal justice May 2009. The assignments were very demanding at times but it was worth it. As with any school, online or brick and mortar you will run into problems with the administration. Online learning is not for the weak you must be self motivated to accomplish the course material and accept the challenge to overcome any obstacles that may come between you and a quality education. I plan on returning to CTU to obtain my Bachelors Degree in criminal justice, this makes me more marketable when seeking employment in a sluggish economy, it feels wonderful to be a college grad.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (1)

    • Reviewed by: Mark O on December 29th, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I just finished with my Associates in Information Technology with a concentration in Software Engineering, with a 3.97 gpa. All I can say is Whew! What a ride. The expectations were high and the course work was very challenging. I finished my ASIT in 2 years. I tried the accelerated pace but did not have a life so I backed down and only took one class per course. Glad I did, it really made the difference. I was able to drop two classes, computer crashed, and picked right back up where I left off. The staff at CTUO was very accommodating, but as a paying student, I set my course schedule not the school. I was very firm and I let the school know how I was going to run my education. There are many institutions that will gladly take my money, so if CTUO wanted it, they were going to have to work with my schedule, not theirs. Comparing colleges is no different than comparing high schools. Each institution gets money, either from the state or from private contributors. I did not take my high school education serious and paid the price for it. I went to a brick and mortar college when I got out of the Army and did well with a 3.0 gpa in Advanced Computer Graphics. I wanted to learn more and signed at CTUO, and am doing well. CTU is not MIT it is a private college offering different levels of degrees for anyone who can cut the mustard which is no different than MIT or Colorado University for that matter. I have been in my profession for many years and worked with people with degrees from just about every state and many different countries, and believe me, many of them did not impress me. I also worked with many people who did not attend college at all and are the best at what they do. Since I am in the nuclear research industry, that says a lot. You sow what you reap. CTUO has many great instructors and a few I would not hire to teach my eleven year old, just like in high school and other colleges I attended, yes I attended many college course while in the Army. There will always be inadequate instructors but if you are reading this post, and you are searching for a college to attend online, do your research. Find the college that fits your personality, CTU is not the only school out there that offer solid degrees. CTU fit my schedule and they were cheaper than DeVry or University of Pheonix and other reputable colleges. The school also fit my personality. Finding a school is very important, more importantly your education should be worth the time it takes to find the perfect school for you. I have learned a lot at CTUO and I was frustrated with the pace at times but like life itself, you will always feel like there is greener grass on the other side of the fence. My suggestion is, stop looking at the other side of the fence and live life to the fullest with no regrets and just do it, get it done and hang the degree on your wall and move on to the next adventure! And by the way, get everything in writing! I did and it paid off!! If the counselors at CTUO promise you anything, make sure they send it via an e-mail or document before you sign anything. It works like a charm!

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (6)

    • Reviewed by: William S on December 27th, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I am student of CTUO and will graduate in 03/10. I do get the run around sometimes, as I feel the school has a high turnover of employees. They do sell to you, and will respond to you is a timely manner, they do have students all over the world. No one is going to take care of anything for you, execpt you. Some teachers are less than average, but get on them and get the school involved, and save your emails, this will save you some hassle. The school is about critical thinking, and exploring. Call them as much as they call you if you have issues. Speak up, defend yourself, and have documentation, and be civil and polite and they will take care of it.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (2)

    • Reviewed by: Anonymous J on December 10th, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      Wow, first off I have to say some of these reviews sound so fake. I know a sales pitch when I hear one. So here's a real review from me and some feedback to other people's review. You can get a degree in 15 months. But that's accelerated, you can also decide to do it in 30 months. 5 week courses, and most people including me, do two at a time. That's turns out to 15 months including the time off between courses. I finished my associates and I am now working on my bachelors. Yes, they are somewhat naggy (calls all the time) and pushy (you'll hear the same pitch from them all) but don't make your decision based on that. You go if you want the degree, and want to do it online. For me, the work was somewhat easy. They hold live chats (video and text) twice a week for each course, and discuss the assignments in detail (they also archive the chat so if you can't make it, you can always watch it and take notes when you have time). I only attended like 3 or 4 chats of the 15 moths and got a 3.0 gpa. This was in business administration, IT was too frustrating so I switched. Sometimes the teachers can be a little hard and expect to much from you (probably because they feel majority of the student are older and have experience in the field already) but now I attend the chats and it really does help. You use to get about 10 days between courses but now it's 2-3 days, and then 10 days then 2-3 days and just keeps rotating like that. One person was saying that they were dismissed. Sometimes you have to go to the syllabus and task list in the class room for new courses or it will not show you as logging in and so they might kick you because your last day attended has not been updated and they think you are not logging in anymore. Maybe this was not the case for you, but maybe it was. The girl who is saying she just received her bachelors in nov 08 and is getting her masters in 09 is full of sh!t and probably trying to make a sale. Each degree is 15 months so there is no way you would even get it in 09. The thing you should really think about (I thought about it too late) is will you be able to make real good connections that can get you a job, since everyone is online and doesn't live in your local area. If you go to a local university you can make friends and some connections and they can help you get jobs and move one up because you will know people, but you won't be able to do that with an online school because everyone you meet is usually very far form you. And YES I do have to rely on search engines a lot, but some courses you do get a textbook in the mail and other courses are ebooks which I don't like. You can view them online, print them out at home or put them on Sony reader, or anything else that can view such documents(I'm pretty sure they're in pdf format). Personally, I like CTU. Would I recommend it? Not to everyone. I get what I want and fast. I jumped right in after finishing high school, so if I stay on track, I will have my masters when I'm 21. I just hope I can get the job since I don't have any job experience as of now. Also if you just want an idea of how your schedule would be if you did go, here's mine: I get two assignemts a week from each course(2 at a time). So that's four assignments a week(usually 2 discussion boards (usually 300-500 words )and 2 individual projects (1000 words or power point or 3-4 pages, really not that hard once you get used to it)). So it's two assignment from monday to friday and 2 more from fridays to monday. I do one on thursday and the other on due date, and one again on sunday and the other on monday. that's fours days of work and three days to myself (sometimes there are the chats on my free days and I just take some notes, and that's it, i have a layout of what I'm going to do and I'm done for the day.) It's really not too hard, sometimes I will save my two assignment for the last day and do them both on the due date. Hope this helps

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (4)

    • Reviewed by: Chris D on November 19th, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      Like an earlier post said... you get what you put into it..... Are they a bit pushy about signing up? yes....... is this institution doing this to make money..... of course........ am I going to get a degree out of it? .... yes.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (1)

    • Reviewed by: Dennis B on November 13th, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      As a current student of CTU Online and former student of Thiel College Greenville, PA & ETI Technical College Niles, OH; I find CTU Online to contain up to date comprehensive material for technical classes and liberal arts classes. I have been able to modify my schedule to accommodate my personal needs and have been taught by instructors whom are associated with successful corporations. The online environment is comparable to the brick and mortar schools I have previously attended and students must have the desire to learn to be sucessful at any school. I would recommend CTU Online to anyone.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (1)

    • Reviewed by: kay S on November 12th, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      Beware-False Claims
      I am an MBA student and believed CTU's promise of graduating in 15 months. It's a trick! The graduation time is 18 months. Also, after completing my second course, I am very disappointed with the curriculum. My assignments consist of google searches for required sources,textbooks are not used. I am so disappointed, but I have already invested money and time, so I guess I'll finish. Please check it out before committing.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (2)

    • Reviewed by: Employee C on October 9th, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I am writing this review as an employee of CTUO. I personally feel sorry for many of the students that enroll here. Although of course, with anything you do, what you get out is what you put in. Yes we are accredited (at least for now which will most likely be changing soon), but that is not the only thing that gives a school value. Our parent company is CEC, and I strongly suggest that any inquiring student do your research on both CEC which stands for Career Education Corp and CTUO before you make any decisions. One thing that a lot of students don't know is that we here are SALES PEOPLE, and were are working in a sales driven environment that requires us to meet daily and monthly quotas individually and as a team. We are given a script that teaches us how to force someone to make an impulsive decision based off of the selective info that we give them! I would suggest this school to NO ONE!!!!!!!

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (9)



    submit review

    Reviews Disclaimer: GetDegrees.com makes reviews freely available via this site. The views and opinions expressed by users do not reflect the views and opinions of GetDegrees.com. GetDegrees.com expressly disclaims any and all liability in connection with the content of any reviews.

    Want More Information about Colorado Technical University?

    To receive more information about the degree programs offered by Colorado Technical University, simply click the request school info button and complete the short form.

    Request School Info

    Related Searches

  • request school info