You are here:
Student
Learn more about DeVry University

Fill out our quick form to get answers to your top questions.

  • How much is tuition?
  • When do classes start?
  • Can I get financial aid?
Request Information
Matching School Ad

DeVry University Reviews

There are currently 28 reviews of DeVry University

 
  • School Reviews
  • Request School Info submit review
    DeVry University
    Sort By:
    • Reviewed by: Richard R, Master in management-degree on September 26th, 2013
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I am a 1994 BSEET graduate of the DeVry Phoenix campus. As was the case with 35 of 37 of my graduating class I had multiple offers and had accepted a position prior to graduation. Many of the offers I received including the one I accepted were from Fortune 500 companies.

      My career has thrived across several industries since graduation and I have never had an issue with acceptance of my education by employers or graduate schools. My salary has been at solid 6 figure levels for many years and my total annual income is multiple six figures.

      The curriculum was challenging with particular focus on application of concepts which translated well to the professional world upon graduation. My early career employers valued my ability to immediately make an impact and solve complex technical and engineering problems.

      In my opinion it is important for anyone entering the university to be fully informed of the costs, the curriculum and the course schedule. This of course applies to students of any university. To have a positive experience students must do the work, engage in the learning process and own their effort and results.

      As a for profit university DeVry has two products. The first is the education that it provides to its students. The second is the graduates that DeVry provides to industry. Because it is a market driven business the products provided by DeVry must be effective or the financial performance of the corporation will suffer. The education programs are developed with guidance from industry professionals and those programs are designed to generate graduates that meet the stipulated needs of the industries that they serve.

      The onus of success lies with the individual student who must make the effort to get the most from their DeVry tuition dollars. No one will do it for you. No one will spoon feed you at any stage of your DeVry experience. You must engage with the professors, the administrative staff, the financial aid staff and with the support professionals to be fully informed about all aspects of your education effort.

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (4)

    • Reviewed by: lance i, Bachelor in pharmacy-technician-training on April 27th, 2012
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      Actually Devry is quite good

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (0)

    • Reviewed by: Rewad M, Bachelor in accounting-schools on April 11th, 2012
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I have been a student in DeVry starting 2008; I was contacted and recruited by DeVry, while I was attending CCAC.
      Before I joined DeVry I was accepted to CCAC and US Air Force Reserve with my High School Diploma from India, as well as in DeVry itself.
      I Have a Cumulative Total of 69.00 Credits, 52 Hrs Completions and a GPA of 2.5085 from CCAC. Out of the 69 Credit from CCAC 43 Credits was transferred to DeVry towards my undergraduate work in DeVry.
      As of March 27 2012 or present I have a total of 80 Credits with a GPA of 2.59 towards my undergraduate work.

      Know DeVry put a hold on my Education. Claiming my High School Diploma does not meet the requirement of US High School Diploma.

      So I end up requesting a Commonwealth Secondary School Diploma from PA Department of Education thru DeVry itself.

      Commonwealth of Pennsylvania Department of Education issued me the Diploma on 04/05/2012. My Issued Diploma no: 0965518
      Then i submitted my Diploma to the Dean in DeVry at Pittsburgh site. Thy made a copy and faxed it to the DeVry ?a main office in for Washington (Olivia Martinez) and they are not accepting it.

      DeVry is not taking hold out of my account and is denying my right to release my official transcript of Undergraduate Work. I cannot transfer to other school because DeVry has put a hold on my official Transcript.

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (1)

    • Reviewed by: Anjune B, High School Diploma in information-technology-degrees on February 14th, 2012
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I have been getting ready to go to Devry and I have been studying my but off so I could get into it, but there are a few things that are making me jump and wonder if this is really what I want or should I go to a community collage instead.

      The price seems to be to WAAAAY much especially for just an hour of learning.

      When I try to call them to set up a day that I can come in for testing, they never pick up.

      When they do call they seem to miss the main reason why I was trying to call them, and they are in such a hurry to hang up ignoring the fact that I?m trying telling them ?Hey hang on a second, I need to know when I need to come in for testing.?

      I have been trying to work with them for a little over a month and a half now and the next sumester is right around the corner. I feel like they are just takeing me for a ride expecting me to throw every penny I own, that should be used for finding my own place to live in, at them.

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (1)

    • Reviewed by: Mi H, Associate in accounting-schools on October 9th, 2011
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I have attended Devry for over a year. I decided to change my degree into the medical field and went to transfer my credits. The school (a community college) I went to only accepted 4 classes out of all the classes that I took (3 full time semesters). The tuition is WAY over priced and the professors are very hard to get in touch with. In the time I have spent at Devry I currently have $27k in student loans. I would recommend shopping around before committing because if something comes up you are penalized big time for trying to withdraw or drop a class after the first day the class starts.

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (0)

    • Reviewed by: Miriam M, Bachelor in on June 14th, 2011
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I would just like to give current and potential students a heads up, DeVry is run by a lot of incompetent individual especially in Pennsylvania.

      1. They have taken away credit that i transferred in from my AS that were given to me when i first registered.
      2. They did not keep up with my degree program credits. They have in their database giving me credit for one class and now are telling me i have to take it over again.
      3. I was told i only had 4 classes left and was supposed to graduate this June, now that i made a big deal about that one class they want me to take over suddenly i have 4 more classes i have to take.

      I am in the process of reporting these things to the State Board of Ed and the Federal board of Ed and local TV and News stations if I cannot get any help from the latter. If anyone has a similar story please contact me (miriam8441@hotmail.com).

      All I have to say is be careful and do a grade audit every other semester and if you?re thinking about going think hard because this school is full of it!

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (0)

    • Reviewed by: Shania W, Bachelor in on December 7th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      Devry Is a scam all they do is lye and push the blame on someone else. Ia one who is for giving chances because ther eis no one perfect except Jesus Christ. But this school I tell you are the un organised. I wounldnt reccomend this school to my enemy. They are your best friend as long as you are giving them all your money do not let you have a problem it will turn out to be about money.

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (1)

    • Reviewed by: Bill T, Bachelor in on November 1st, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I graduated from Devry in 2006 with a BSEE and have held a great job in my field ever since. I started making around $40k, now I am well into six figures ($140k) within 5 years. The hands on approach that DeVry has is highly sought after in the Electronics Engineering field. The financial aid department was horrid, however the instructors were intelligent and seemed to care about their students. The small classroom sizes were definitely beneficial to me and assisted me in grasping difficult concepts with relative ease. Overall going to Devry was a great choice and has served me well thus far in my career.

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (7)

    • Reviewed by: Rich C, Master in on August 12th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      After obtaining a MS in Business Management at the University of Phoenix, I wanted to obtain my MBA elsewhere; stated the Program at DeVry/Keller Graduate School of Management. Even when compared to another “paper mill” school, DeVry/Keller was a joke. The grades are spoon fed, and the level of education provided is far below what I expected. Most employers thumb their noses at both Phoenix and DeVry/Keller, especially Devry/Keller. Ask yourself this, do you want to go around apologizing for your degree every time someone asks where you graduated…..NO. You will be stuck with your degree for the remainder of your life. Did you keep your first car forever…..no. Go get a degree from a respected school, so you can compete against other applicants for your next job.

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (5)



    submit review

    Reviews Disclaimer: GetDegrees.com makes reviews freely available via this site. The views and opinions expressed by users do not reflect the views and opinions of GetDegrees.com. GetDegrees.com expressly disclaims any and all liability in connection with the content of any reviews.

    Want More Information about DeVry University?

    To receive more information about the degree programs offered by DeVry University, simply click the request school info button and complete the short form.

    Request School Info

    Related Searches

  • request school info