dcsimg
You are here:
Matching School Ad

Dover Business College Reviews

There are currently 10 reviews of Dover Business College

 
  • School Reviews
  • Request School Info submit review
    Dover Business College
    Sort By:
    • Reviewed by: LPN G on March 27th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      once accepted into the program, you will feel like your taking ur first steps into you career....but wake up because its a nightmare. The chairperson or upper heads there dont give a damn about you...Marylou only cares about a check. This school does not prepare you for passing the HESI EXAM. the school is a waste of time, overpriced, and a horrible experience. i have my LPN from DOVER BUT I WOULD NEVER SUGGEST GOING TO THIS PLACE....RUN

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (14)

    • Reviewed by: Lisa A, Associate in on September 8th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      Dover Business College is an upcoming great school where people get get a degree in a specific field in just a short amount of time.

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (6)

    • Reviewed by: D F, Certificate in on August 20th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I graduated as a medical assistant in 2009. I have to say I did enjoy most of the classes except for in the last quarter they have a professional career development class that SUCKS! She just embarrasses you and calls you out on everything you say. "mock interviews" are a JOKE!!!! The biggest problem is once you graduate they toss you aside and forget about any future help with finding a job. Go to a different school...it is over priced and under staffed.

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (13)

    • Reviewed by: Moe B, Certificate in on August 2nd, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      My experience with Dover is on going. I'm not out working yet & haven't taken the certification test yet. I am in the Medical Billing & Coding program. My issue is misinformation, from the initial tour, to the financial process, to now when I just found out the Medical Billing & Coding program classes are online only when my main concern was in classroom education. I never wanted online education for my career critical classes and feel decieved. My recruiter saud I'd have a choice as to what class I'd take online as 1 per semester was mandatory. I was told I could take my Billing & Coding classes in the classroom. Nope...When I went to discuss this, I was offered tutuoring. Be careful what you sign and anything said to you verbally, get put on paper, dated and signed and not just by the recruiter, by someone that's a higher up. I was too trusting and now they have me for $17,000 and I'm forced to study as they want me to, not as I wanted to. I've enjoyed my in classroom instruction and the teachers very much so far. I feel lost and unguided in the online program process. I pray I'll be able to pass my test when I graduate and get a job, I thought with 50 years in the business, I could trust they'd be ethical. Remember Dover is a business too and make sure you get what you were told you would.

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (11)

    • Reviewed by: R S, Certificate in business-administration-degrees on July 6th, 2012
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I attended Dover Business College from 06/29/2011 to 06/22/2012 and I could not wait to finish because this school lack professionalism
      . Some of the teachers treated some of the students as if they were still in high school. There were only three teachers that were actually good at teaching. The admissions representatives will say anything to get students to attend, but the school is not what they say. The placement career development class is a waste of time: it is a six week class which your resume, cover letter,and reference list is done every week. I did not get a job as told; a placement staff called me about a job the day I finished, and after that, I have not heard from him yet. They care more about the dress code than anything else. I have only had three teachers that were actually good at teaching and one left. You can only transfer the credits to Berkeley College because it is their sister school. If you do not have to attend this school, please do not, it is not worth the time or money.

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (3)

    • Reviewed by: AIMEE S, Associate in lpn-licensed-practical-nurse on November 3rd, 2011
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      i WOULD NOT RECOMMENT ANYONE TO GO TO THIS SCHOOL..THEY SUCK!!! ONE DAY ITS ONE THING AND THE NEXT DAY ITS SOMTHING DIFFERENT. THEY ARE ALWAYS CHANGING THINGS AROUND AND TELLING THE STUDENTS LAST MINUTE. GO SOMEWEHRE ELSE. IT IS A WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY!

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (4)

    • Reviewed by: Ze G, Associate in on February 4th, 2011
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I've attended Dover on the Fall/Winter of 2008. Before even applying, I wanted to be enrolled in the surgical tech. course, but when it came the time to fill out the application, the recruiter talks to me about a new course they're offering called surgical processing tech. It was cheaper and seemed easier to study, so I decided to enroll in that course. At first, I liked my classes, til I had to attend Group Dynamics. I hated that classes and some of the classmates I worked with were like stuck up b****es. I ended up failing that class. Then for the next classes, I had one instructor whom we only saw 2 times in the whole semester. ..... very unprofessional. Then, while waiting to receive my next set of classes during the winter break, I instead get a letter saying that I was discharged and that I owe Dover money....... I seriously believe I was wrongfully discharged. I specifically heard them say that if i failed the exact same class twice, I would be dropped, which never happened. Its been over 2 years now. Haven't had a decent job since then. Now Dover is suing me for not paying them.... how can I pay them if I don't have a job??? I will fight this in court! If anyone who feels that they can help me by exposing Dover for all the things they've done, send me an e-mail or IM to zhenpach325@aim.com or zhenpachi325@yahoo.com,

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (12)

    • Reviewed by: DBC S on February 3rd, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      An extremely disorganized program full of inconsistency. They've had the LPN program for about 5 years now and still do not have their stuff together. I would never recommend this program to anybody. It is a waste of time and money.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (7)

    • Reviewed by: . . on January 5th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      Dover Business College is NOT the place to go if you are serious about an LPN career path. Throughout this 15 month program I can assure you that you will have about 2 instructors that you will get anything out of. Most of DBC's instructors do not know how to teach and literally sit there and read text books to you word for word. It's a waste being in class but you cant leave early -tisk tisk- or they'll dock you hours!

      Not once during my time at DBC did I ever have a correct schedule that hasn't had overlapping classes and wrong times. In our 5th quarter (the last quarter) some of our students still hadn't received all of their books.

      If you go to DBC you will have all A's and B's in your classes but don't plan on passing your HESI/boards the first or second time because the program does not get you ready for such tests. You must get review books for these tests and really do it all on your own time. The LPN classes who have gone through all wind up taking the HESI multiple times until they pass. Oh and if you don't pass don't forget you have to pay for their remediation courses!!!

      $25,000 is a lot of money to spend. In this program you will be jerked around, your teachers are jerked around, you will be taken advantage of, and you will be ripped off. I do not suggest this program to anybody who is serious about an LPN career. If you are considering DBC for their LPN program - I suggest you look into Lincoln Tech.

      I am a former student at DBC and was one of the top students of my class. I have written this review with a 100% honest attitude.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (20)

    • Reviewed by: Heather R on August 14th, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I would not recommend that anyone attend this school for their LPN program....we have had nothing but problems with them from day one...They can never get the scheduling right, they make changes to it during the semester, add hours last minute....then they don't have the classrooms available to you. We have also had major issues with some of the instructors, some of them don't know how to teach or are just to lazy to teach or even don't know the information they are supposed to teach. Most recently we are required to have a professional career development class that was BUS190 meaning we didn't need to pass the class in order to pass the program, but they gave us a new syllabus half way through the semester because they changed it to NUR290 meaning if we don't pass this class with a 75% or better thats $23,000 down the drain because we won't be able to graduate. Being this class is in the last semester when you are trying to study to pass the HESI and NCLEX it takes away a lot of time we could be using for preparing for the test.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (14)

    submit review

    Reviews Disclaimer: GetDegrees.com makes reviews freely available via this site. The views and opinions expressed by users do not reflect the views and opinions of GetDegrees.com. GetDegrees.com expressly disclaims any and all liability in connection with the content of any reviews.

    Want More Information about Dover Business College?

    To receive more information about the degree programs offered by Dover Business College, simply click the request school info button and complete the short form.

    Request School Info

    Related Searches

  • request school info