You are here:
Matching School Ad

Everest College Reviews

There are currently 55 reviews of Everest College

 
  • School Reviews
  • Request School Info submit review
    Everest College
    Sort By:
    • Reviewed by: Brandi M on April 15th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I graduated with an Associate in Computer Science from Florida Metropolitan University prior to the name changing to Everest. The same staff that was there then is still there now. I was told during my intake interview that my credits would transfer to any college I wanted to go and not understanding accreditations that well, I believed them at their word. I shortly found out that the college was involved in a class action lawsuit revolving around their bold face lies about transferring credits to other colleges. I have spent several years defending my degree which means nothing to either my employer or another college even to this day. I spent over a year deciding what my best plan of action was to get a bachelors degree and how I would go about it. I located Western Governors University. I am happy about it except they have failed to accept my Oral Communications Degree –
      I told you that entire back story to tell you this.
      I am in the process of appealing that credit only I need Everest to give me the course description and syllabus for class. I have made over 8 unreturned calls, faxed 5 requests, and left a message on the VP voicemail. I had 15 days to complete my appeal with my new school and I am down to 2 and I have heard nothing. I would not be so aggressive in my request except nobody returns my calls or confirms that my request was received. Why? It is the basics of customer service!
      I spent over 30k on a degree that gets laughed at by both other colleges and employers. My husband has spent 33k and still works in construction because nobody will give him the time of day.
      This school is unprofessional and preys on individuals who have families and cannot afford to miss time from the full time jobs to attend school and make better life for themselves and their families. Do yourself and bank account a favor - find a better more reputable school to spend your time and hard earned money. If I could give it 0 checkmarks I would.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (15)

    • Reviewed by: Vanessa T on March 22nd, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I am actually in the process of transferring from one private school to Everest college. I have been reading everyone's reviews and it seems that issue is that the students expect the school to find them a job. Anyone knows that is not true. They only provide you with the leads you have to go out there on your own and look for work, no one can promise you anything. My reason for transferring to this school is to get the proper training which i was not getting at the previous school and to me that is the most important part of the schooling the rest is up to me to look for a job and get the job.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (15)

    • Reviewed by: Michaela A on March 9th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      To all the people that say nasty things about Everest really need to grow up.You have to work hard in life with a degree or with out one,its if people like you, when you go on the interview, and if your qualified to do the job, a job is not going to fall in your lap, go out there and get your piece of the pie,their have been business owners who have never attended college.Ive been at Everest since April of 2009,and it has been every thing I wanted and much,much more take responsibility for your own action and go get your dream,stop blamming Everest College.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (11)

    • Reviewed by: cassandra H on March 1st, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I graduated in 2008 as a Medical Assistant and was not very happy either my computer teacher didnt know how to use the computer i pretty much passed that class by just showing up ! my computer books were never even opened !!!!!!!! i would never reccomend this college!!!!!

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (11)

    • Reviewed by: lele D on February 21st, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      you know from reading these reviews all i have to say is in some situations you have to see for yourself. I personally dont have a problem and i think its a great school.everything is not going to come to you easy just like that you have to do your part too teachers and staff are there to help but how they gonna help you if you dont wana help urself.i do agree it is alot of money but what isnt alot of money these days? like i said im reciving a great edu. there so i have nothing bad to say about it.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (6)

    • Reviewed by: maria C on December 15th, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I am currently enrolled at Everest College, Burr Ridge campus, in Medical Assisting. I think they are great and they do go out of their way to help the students here. You just have to know what you want and stay focused. Anyone who thinks that everything will be handed to you on a silver platter is just ignorant and spoiled. You have to go out and get what you want and do it in a positive manner. Be persistant, committed, and determined and most of all, NEVER give up. I've been on my own since I was 12 years old and I didn't have anyone at all to help me. I was involved with gangs, drugs and alcohol, but God helped guide me and I am now 32 years old, youth leader at church, no kids(by choice), with several certifications in the medical field and law enforcement and currently have a decent job in law enforcement, but I would rather be on the other end physically helping people. I am going to be a Family Doctor or and ER Doctor. This was the best way for me to get my foot in the door. Once I am done here, I am going to transfer and do my prereqs and then go to Premed and then to Loyola or UIC. So, don't anyone let these comments by others discourage you. You have to do what is best for you and only you can say what that is. You can only depend on yourself and God. God Bless, "keep ya head up" and stay encouraged!!!!

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (9)

    • Reviewed by: Heather Y on December 1st, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      No school can ever legally promise you anything. I work as a Career Services Advisor at another college and it is a common misunderstanding by students that they will be guaranteed an interview and/or a job. I find it interesting how much people rely on other people to get them what they want. YOU are an adult, you go to college to receive the education, the rest is up to YOU. Yes, there are people like me in Career Services who can offer help, resources, and advice. However, since we are not the ones hiring, we can not guarantee you that someone will hire you. I am an Everest graduate of the Paralegal program and got a paralegal job right out of school. I also worked the entire time I was in school as a legal file clerk. YOU have to make the effort, YOU have to go after what you want, things will not just appear in front of you. If an admissions person actually said the words "we promise" or "we guarantee" then you should sue. Other than that, you have to be smart enough and do enough research to know that these schools are for profit, that they do want your money, but that that also doesn't mean that they're bad people. YOU walked into the school and YOU decided to sign up.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (12)

    • Reviewed by: j S on November 24th, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I have been looking into Everest... most of you are right! A huge money hole!! The first financial rep I spoke to, acted as if she knew as little as I, the 2nd was very honest and let me know up front what the costs were to be. When I was ready to leave for good, the admission rep came rolling out of no-where to assure me she would hear from me again. I let people think what they want, and go along my merry way....with what little money I have, that is definitely not going to be theres!!!

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (5)

    • Reviewed by: Amanda R on November 20th, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      Amanda R.B Me either my professors are great and I don't see where there's a problem. I do see many students that don't make there posts and dont participate in discussions well that's you screwing your own grade.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (6)

    • Reviewed by: Talisha N on August 28th, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I'm confused...I just finished my 3rd module at Everest in Southfield, MI. I had to stop going for personal reasons now. I'm in a mix of taking online classes with Kaplan, but Everest is telling me that hands-on is important. Also those with high degrees are still racing for jobs just as well as those with low degrees. My thing is what's better for one person may not be better for you or me. So I partially agree with Everest, but at the same time YES you can't expect to just recieve a certificate from Everest and stop there!! So for those who keep complaining about how they graduated and still haven't found a job or better yet didn't recieve the "PROMISED INTERVIEW" is getting annoying. Education should be everlasting anyway, although no one in this world could possibly learn everything. It takes time and those with no patience are the one's time kill! You can't expect things to be given to you not in this world. My plans are beyond that, I will be going back to finish the program just to get the hands on and knowledge training, and further my education! These statements about Everest being money hungry is over-rated if you ask me...now if you're trying to say it's costly and not worth it, then move on!

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (3)



    submit review

    Reviews Disclaimer: GetDegrees.com makes reviews freely available via this site. The views and opinions expressed by users do not reflect the views and opinions of GetDegrees.com. GetDegrees.com expressly disclaims any and all liability in connection with the content of any reviews.

    Want More Information about Everest College?

    To receive more information about the degree programs offered by Everest College, simply click the request school info button and complete the short form.

    Request School Info

    Related Searches

  • request school info