You are here:
Student
Learn more about Grand Canyon University

Fill out our quick form to get answers to your top questions.

  • How much is tuition?
  • When do classes start?
  • Can I get financial aid?
Request Information
Matching School Ad

Grand Canyon University Reviews

There are currently 11 reviews of Grand Canyon University

 
  • School Reviews
  • Request School Info submit review
    Grand Canyon University
    Sort By:
    • Reviewed by: tameka c, High School Diploma in teacher-certification-online on March 3rd, 2012
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      well i start school march 12 2012

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (3)

    • Reviewed by: Jenny L, Bachelor in on August 6th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I took classes at Grand Canyon University from 2002-2006 but never finished by BS in General Biology. I quit with 112 credits, just shy of graduating with 120 credits. This year (2010) I decided to go back to school and now GCU is telling me I need to apply as a new student and my advisor, Noelle Clark, tells me only 44 of those 112 credits are usable. The reason why, I have to re-apply under a degree program they now offer. If you are going to attend this University, do not drop out for a semester, you will have to re-apply and will lose 40% of your credits.
      Not only have I spent $142,297 to attend a University that offers poor staff leadership and insurmountable headaches, my BS will now cost me an additional $35,920...leading to a grand total of $174,217.
      I've been lied to and lied to from this school and have the emails to prove it. There are no state and national "university" standards that speak to re-enrolling students taking another major Noelle! Get your facts right!!!

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (13)

    • Reviewed by: Robbie L on July 26th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      If you consider those who leave the school with a negative rating, it is usually a result of a bad experience dealing with one issue. These people more than likely wrote these reviews out of anger. I will graduate in Dec. I have had ups and downs, but overall, I cannot give the school a negative review. It is excellent for flexibility. You can do the work at your own convenience, you just have to finish each assignment by the due date. Overall, I would simply give details of my experience and let others decide for themselves as to whether or not they should attend. I definitely would never fully discourage the school like others have. he thumbs up definitely outweigh the thumbs down. In fact, I am considering continuing on for my doctorate.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (7)

    • Reviewed by: Student A on May 15th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      This school is so unorganized & students online pay for it big time in one way or another. They are unethical & unwilling to correct their financial errors, grading unethical & subjective to the teachers personal views if you don't line up with their beliefs, & they have major administrative issues & tech issues (which they do not correct even if it locks you out of their system 6 out of an 8 wk course). Still after almost 2 yrs they cannot correct a last name change which has locked me out of classes, lost papers/emails, lost credits, & no matter how much you show proof of the errors the school plays stupid & they are unwilling to set things straight. They have messed up the financial documents SOOOO many times & they don't want to ever show you documented proof. They change advisors ALL the time. Horrible communication! They are totally discouraging & I never would have gone there if I knew what an awful experience this would be. I don't know about other military Vets but they have treated me like crap. No one has answers & totally unwilling to provide solutions except sorry we will pray for you.... I don't need prayers I need them to just be the ethical Christian college they advertise that they are.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (5)

    • Reviewed by: Aarin W on April 21st, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      What a great experience!
      I just completed my B.S. in Public Safety Administration. Grand Canyon is a great school that provides excellent course work that I was able to apply right away. I received a Military scholarship through my entire program, and can receive it as long as I attend. My wife is also a student in the Business Administration bachelors program. I am attending my graduation in Phoenix next week, and starting a Master's program next week. Last year I started looking for Maters programs and Grand Canyon didn’t offer the degree that I was looking for (I/O Psychology). Sadly I thought I would have to leave Grand Canyon, but starting this year Grand Canyon now offers the degree. I was excited that I would be able to continue at the school I knew and could trust. I would and have recommended Grand Canyon to anyone pursuing degrees that Grand Canyon offers.
      In my opinion I wouldn’t write off a school because I ran into small administration issues, no school will be perfect. And readers on this site might find a school that better fits their personal needs and goals so I can’t discount other school I can only share my personal experience.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (4)

    • Reviewed by: W P on April 19th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I have nothing but positives to say about my experience at GCU. I enjoyed the curriculum and the education was top-notch. I am getting my B.S. in Psychology in a month and then I am going on to my Masters.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (3)

    • Reviewed by: C J on April 6th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      Grand Canyon University is a complete joke. The level of incompetence of the school administration is simply staggering. After completely ignoring my mailed transcript request, I decided to have my school login and password reset so that I could attempt ordering the transcript online. What was I thinking? Clearly, a process of this nature is far too complex for the bumbling idiocy of both those who designed their horrible system and those who are tasked with having to use it. After finally getting everything reset and logging into my account, inexplicably, there was a note in red stating that I had to call the business office. Since I had a $0 balance with the school, I had absolutely no idea why I would need to contact the business office, but since this made about as much sense as anything else involving GCU, I figured I would call and find out why the business office has anything to do with my transcript when I have a $0 balance. I had already wasted almost my entire lunch break just getting my password and login reset, so I decided I would call on another day. Big mistake, as a couple of days later when I attempted to get back to that phone number, they had changed the web interface so that I could no longer access that part of the site. The business office phone number was listed nowhere else. By this time, hopelessly confused, I decided to click on the link to contact an academic advisor, as that department seemed more relevant to my issue. SURPRISE! After clicking on the link, it took me to a page that listed the advisors' hours, but not their phone number! Exasperated, I decided to send an e-mail to the academic department, to which I have, naturally, received no response. Today, I decided to try a different route and called a generic number. Someone did answer, and I told them that I needed to contact the business office. I was put on hold, and after holding for THIRTY MINUTES, I was, with no explanation, transferred to the VOICEMAIL of a financial counselor, a person who has absolutely NOTHING to do with my problem. Thanks to GCU and their inability to perform a simple task like sending an official transcript after I've already sent them a check for it, I now risk not being able to graduate on time from my current school for lack of the transfer credit. If you are looking for a school that is able to administer BASIC school functions, LOOK ELSEWHERE!

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (12)

    • Reviewed by: L B on January 10th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      wow Grand Canyon University Just sent me diploma in the Mail for December 2009. I asked for a letter to be sent to the State Board of Nursing so I can sit for my Family Nurse Practitiioner boards. I was told that the college could not confirm or send a letter because once again theyhave messed up several students transcripts.

      Seems that the university at least the MSN program does not have to be objective and can give courses without a syllabus.

      The business office Enrollment counselors leave a bunch to be desired.

      Yes I finished my degree but spent most of my time trying to fight the college to get things done

      I have completed two other degrees in my life and I am telling you I have never seen such disorganization

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (15)

    • Reviewed by: Jeriel O on August 9th, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I can't complaint about the education received from GCU. I complete my Masters Degree in just 1 year and three months. Sometimes I had little or non important issues with getting help from the advisor, but that kind of situation happens even with the face-to-face university systems. The quality of education is excellent!

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (4)

    • Reviewed by: Top B on July 17th, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      Agree with Anne O on the topic of GCU's practices and policies. After being enfrolled in the On-line Graduate program in the College of Education for a Special Education Degree, I too have the experience of my Academic Counselor NOT calling me back when I had some issues that needed to be addressed. After calling the Provost's Office, did I get a response from the Counselor, but it was too late to disenroll from the University's program without financial and academic consequences. Now I am being forced to complete a course that I wanted to disenroll from. The technical support is good, they do call back the students, however in the beginning, there were off-shore Advisors who could not speak English very well. The University does not mentor their current students at all. Basically, it is up to the student to find their own support and resources after enrolling in the University and the money is sent to the University from the lending institution.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (5)



    submit review

    Reviews Disclaimer: GetDegrees.com makes reviews freely available via this site. The views and opinions expressed by users do not reflect the views and opinions of GetDegrees.com. GetDegrees.com expressly disclaims any and all liability in connection with the content of any reviews.

    Want More Information about Grand Canyon University?

    To receive more information about the degree programs offered by Grand Canyon University, simply click the request school info button and complete the short form.

    Request School Info

    Related Searches

  • request school info