dcsimg
You are here:
Matching School Ad

Kaplan Career Institute Reviews

There are currently 10 reviews of Kaplan Career Institute

 
  • School Reviews
  • Request School Info submit review
    Kaplan Career Institute
    Sort By:
    • Reviewed by: Kenny S, Associate in on March 9th, 2011
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      Seems alright to me.

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (2)

    • Reviewed by: harry Z on May 8th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I called to get information at this campus and got a used-car-salesman-type to call me back. He wouldn't give me any important information over the phone and said that I needed to visit the school for a tour and interview. What normal school does this? They run their operation like a health club. This is school is a total scam! They don't post prices online and force you to take a tour to find out the cost. Then, they corner you in a room with a pen and contract and strong arm you into signing your life away. If you say no, they keep harassing you. If you don't believe me then try calling and finding out the cost yourself. Good luck.

      Also, PBS did an investigation of schools like this and if you watch it, you won't get within a mile of an institution like this. Goto PBS Frontline/College Inc. Do yourselves a favor and go to a Community College! They are reasonably priced, accredited, and the real deal. So what if it takes twice as long. You'll be proving to the world that you can form and maintain a consistent performance record. God Bless and Peace to all.

      To Fraudulent Schools: Please find an honest way of making money and stop preying on the poor.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (13)

    • Reviewed by: Laci J, Diploma Non-High School in medical-assistant-school on April 9th, 2013
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I honestly would have never enrolled at Kaplan for the Medical Assistant Diploma, if I knew ahead of time that ithis school would be a complete waste of my time and money. First for anyone who works a day job, has kids or any other obligation that could interfere with you completing your classes or externship DO NOT ENROLL. This school is setup for students who do not have any other prior obligations. If you are just a student, you will be fine but for the real world people like myself who have to work to stay alive, this school does not....does not help in any way or fashion. They do not care about your schedule. Yes they offer night classes but when it comes to your externship they regret to inform you that you MUST do you externship during the day. So therefore did I graduate??? NO! I had to choose between finishing my externship or quit my job. Take my advice and make sure your obligations dont interfere with THEIR curriculum. Also, the quality of education is pretty much basic as basic can get. No offense

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (2)

    • Reviewed by: Heather B, in medical-billing-schools on July 21st, 2011
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I started attending Kaplan September 2010. Everything started out GREAT!! I liked my teachers and I really felt like they were well educated and knew what they were talking about. Until one of my teachers went off the handle and freaked out on our class, cussed us out, and walked out the door. That was only the beginning to the problems i had with this school. After that they threw us around from teacher to teacher and they all taught differently so we were confused. I finally made it through my classroom courses and went to my extern. The location was GREAT but i did not learn but one thing on my extern. I went for billing and coding and i did not see or touch any of that during my extern. The only good thing i can say about the school is that the Career Services really does care about you getting a job. They call me all the time and send me Emails daily. It is the rest of the staff that SUCK! I can not get anyone to tell me how to get ready or sign up for my CPC exam. They said in the beginning they would help up with that because they pay for the first test but i cannot get anyone to call me back. So i just paid 15,000 to learn billing and coding and NOT be able to get certified. I am very dissapointed in this school and do NOT recommend it to anyone. THEY ONLY CARE ABOUT THE STUDENTS THAT ARE CURRENTLY ATTENDING. ONCE YOU ARE OUT OF THE CLASSROOM AND FINISHED WITH YOUR EXTERN YOU CAN EXPECT TO NEVER HEAR FROM THEM OR GET ANY HELP FROM THEM!!!! -NASHVILLE, TN CAMPUS.

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (2)

    • Reviewed by: mr Z on May 3rd, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I called to get information on cost. I spoke to an admissions representative who told me that they do not give out prices over the phone. A tour would be needed and the price would be revealed afterwards. I told him that I wanted to know the price upfront so that I could save the time of the tour for me and the school if the price was too high. He said no, that Kaplan was a school and not a business selling things and that a tour would be needed, especially if I needed financial aid. I told him that I knew I would not qualify for any aid and yet he still would not give me the price. This is the kind of stuff that happen at a health club. They give you a tour and then they corner you a room and pressure you to sign on the dotted line. Sketchy! If a school doesn't advertise it's tuition up front then it's a scam!!! Stay away from Kaplan in Charlestown!!!!!!

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (6)

    • Reviewed by: mr Z on May 3rd, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I called to get information on cost. I spoke to an admissions representative who told me that they do not give out prices over the phone. A tour would be needed and the price would be revealed afterwards. I told him that I wanted to know the price upfront so that I could save the time of the tour for me and the school if the price was too high. He said no, that Kaplan was a school and not a business selling things and that a tour would be needed, especially if I needed financial aid. I told him that I knew I would not qualify for any aid and yet he still would not give me the price. This is the kind of stuff that happen at a health club. They give you a tour and then they corner you a room and pressure you to sign on the dotted line. Sketchy! If a school doesn't advertise it's tuition up front then it's a scam!!! Stay away from Kaplan in Charlestown!!!!!!

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (4)

    • Reviewed by: K R on March 23rd, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I've been a student at Kaplan here in Harrisburg for almost 9 months. The instructors most of the time are very unprofessional, and disrespectfull. My advisers do not advice me on anything in financal aid other than sign here so we can have more money. The class are boring and most of the day i find myself surfing the interenet looking for something. In my 4 terms here I have had 2 good teachers. None of them excellent! Most days I feel like this school is a waste of my time and that I would have been better off finding a job right out of high school. This place is a joke. If you want my advice don't come here!

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (10)

    • Reviewed by: anonymous T on November 18th, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      This has got to be the worst waste of money and the best scam going. The "school" has one thing in mind - suck up as much of your money as possible. Instructors are given little or no supplies and are fired when any complaining is done. ( I saw the best instructors in the school fired over their passion to help students). Regular "suggestion " sheets are ignored. The curriculum is designed to pass everyone with little or no work - but that also means little or no knowledge upon graduation. If you truly want to learn - go elsewhere !

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (8)

    • Reviewed by: darryl F on August 13th, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      The Kaplan Career Institute in charlestown, Ma. is a vocational school. The HVAC/R curriculum as outlined by each instructor has been both precise and vague. The class room instruction has been fairly good, with the exception of dumbing it down for the lowest common denominator. The pace of classes has been slow and tedious, due to the lack of a standardized curriculum.
      Labs can be exceptional learning experiences depending on the instructor. These experiences have however been few and far between. The instructors are for the most part techs from the industry, which means some work all day and then teach at night. They can be exhausted and hardly able to instruct the number of students requiring their attention.
      All in all, Kaplan is not the school I would recommend for this subject. The price is to high, and the instruction lacking. They have atractted students with the promise of 4000 hours toward a state license. But experience on the job would serve the students better. This is a corporate run school and as such...Money is the main object, not the quality of the education provided.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (8)

    submit review

    Reviews Disclaimer: GetDegrees.com makes reviews freely available via this site. The views and opinions expressed by users do not reflect the views and opinions of GetDegrees.com. GetDegrees.com expressly disclaims any and all liability in connection with the content of any reviews.

    Want More Information about Kaplan Career Institute?

    To receive more information about the degree programs offered by Kaplan Career Institute, simply click the request school info button and complete the short form.

    Request School Info

    Related Searches

  • request school info