You are here:
Matching School Ad

Kaplan College Reviews

There are currently 28 reviews of Kaplan College

 
  • School Reviews
  • Request School Info submit review
    Kaplan College
    Sort By:
    • Reviewed by: H G on May 19th, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I recently finished a program at Kaplan College and I would not recommend this institution. I had requested information on one of their programs and then received telemarketer-like calls from one of their "advisors" to set up a meeting to speak with them. The advisor that I spoke with, while kind, was pushy and during our initial conversation I agreed to sign up for an on-campus meeting. During my meeting I felt pressured into signing up for this program (maybe the advisors are paid commission this would be my guess for their strong sense of urgency). In any case they are good at their jobs and other Kaplan students that I have spoken with say the same thing; they set up a meeting with an advisor, they signed up for a program that same day, and regretted signing up later on. I had attended a large university prior to attending Kaplan so I was surprised at the curriculum, it was unorganized (at least in the program that I was in) and my instructor was a great person, but unqualified to teach this program. I often had several answers marked wrong on my exams but were actually correct and verbatim out of the textbook. I had to go through exams to highlight and prove that several answers marked wrong were indeed correct. My instructor blamed this on the incompetency of the curriculum, and when I asked administration they gave me the same response. I would not have expected this from a program in which the tuition is 7 times the cost of that same program at a local community college (about $14,000 at Kaplan, this is not a typo). Also the program at the local community college is accredited and the program at Kaplan, when I was there, was still petitioning for accreditation.
      My purpose in writing this review is to hopefully educate others who are looking to potentially attend Kaplan College or a school like Kaplan (for profit schools) that, in my opinion, takes advantage of those who are ill-informed. They have skilled sales consultants who answer your requests for information and they call themselves "advisors" they may be knowledgeable and kind, but remember that they are simply doing their job. Do research for yourself and check out all options available to you either through a traditional university or a community college both options if you are an in-state student, are probably much less expensive than Kaplan and both probably offer several online or accelerated evening programs for convenience. Once you know your options, weigh out the pros and cons and if you do decide to meet w/ a Kaplan advisor, request time to think about signing up for a program so you can do the comparisons for yourself. Education is invaluable but always make sure you are advocating for yourself.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (16)

    • Reviewed by: Kara C on February 7th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      Best Bang for Your Buck? TRY BEST MIGRAINE!!!

      1. First of all I looked into Kaplan because of the tuition, it was relatively cheap-or so I thought. I was told that my tuition was going to be $371 per course. Fantastic right? Wrong. It's $371 per credit hour. A total of $66,780 for a BS in Human Services.

      2. I was a student at UoP before attending Kaplan. I had some medical issues that were so dibilitating that I needed to leave school. I began looking into other schools once those issues were resolved. I began speaking with Cynthia Freeman, an admissions advisor. She should be well paid for her great acting ability. She contacted me on a daily basis-sometimes 2 or 3 times a day- until I began having the same medical issues again. Once I notified her that I did not feel that I was ready to begin school again I lost all contact until 2 months later someone else, Al Coker, called to 'check on me'. He was nice, and finally talked me into starting at Kaplan despite my unpleasant experience with CJ Freeman.

      3. All books are included in tuition-another fantastic feature. This is only true if your instructor WANTS to use a physical book. Otherwise you have an e-book, but your tuition stays the same regardless of which book you use.

      4. My physical books were outdated, and even though I brought this to the attention of staff, no one's done a thing about it.

      5. The classes were ridiculously easy. In the MML section of math classes, you have an unlimited number of times you can do the homework. Basically you can do it over and over again until you get 100%. Fair? I don't think so.

      I only gave this one checkmark because I can't give it zero. This school was just as bad, if not worse, than University of Phoenix which EVERYONE knows is a freaking joke. I'm now switching to Columbia Southern University or possibly Fort Hays State University because both offer great tuition rates, and book rates (if any fee at all). PLEASE SPEND YOUR TIME, ENERGY AND MONEY ELSEWHERE!!!

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (11)

    • Reviewed by: kandie F on May 18th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I am almost done with Kaplan College. I graduate in September. I advise everyone who asks me to FIND ANOTHER SCHOOL!!!! Kaplan is full of crap. They sweet talk to you to get you in the door, then hit you with monthly student fees, take your grant money, dont supply enough materials, are BARELY hands-on, may take a while for them to find you an externship site, Call you NON-STOP. I had a instructor call me so much, I changed my number, so they called my boss's CELL PHONE ( I used my boss as a reference), ALSO they came to my job, TWICE. Like seriously!?!? Leave me alone....It's hell. It isnt worth it. Yea it's only 7 months, because it's crap!!!

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (6)

    • Reviewed by: gabe J on May 18th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      This school will drain your account and live you with a bad credit......

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (3)

    • Reviewed by: s o, in on August 24th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      Ghetto! I made the right decision to drop. The instructor's were uncaring and non supportive- especially to people with disabilities. Students were very immature and rude. Bragging about being on drugs or in jail! I ended up going to a real school Glendale College- which is a lot cheaper and you get paid to go to school with financial aid. Their medical billing program is great, teachers great and the school supports everyone. At Kaplan, things were taught poorly. My grades were ok but at glendale I made the honor roll last semester and have a 3.53 gpa! I'm interning now at a wonderful clinic with celebrities and high class people! Kaplan's immature studants would get kicked out of there for their lack of maturity. I'm happy there. Kaplan kids also need to have their babies after they graduate and get a job and pay off loans! Everyone was pregnant! Now my life is much happier and better- and I lost 10 sizes with the holistic knowlege I learned with my own health research.

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (10)

    • Reviewed by: K T, Associate in on September 10th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I would not recommend Kaplan College. I attended thee school in Dallas, TX (farmers branch). When I first went for my first visit my Admission rep was really nice and answered any questions I needed, she showed me around and said if I need time to theink I can and get back to her. Well I decided and went to financial aid. When I was in financial aid, I did not see any paper work theey were doing or what she was typing in the system. I did not realize till later what a hole I got myself into. I found my own externship and got my job on my own. The career services to help you place jobs did not even look at thee location or what you were interested in. My teacher theroughout thee school yet was awesome. Not only did he teach us what we needed to learn but he taught us beyond theat and was always willing to help. And would you get theis, theey let thee BEST teacher in theat school go. This school is a waste of time and money. There are so many schools and theat cost less and better teachers, thee only way I would recommend theis school is if theat same teacher was theere and you were guarantee to get him as a teacher. Otheerwise theis school is not worthe it. They have just anybody going to theat school, people dress inappropriately. Not to mention thee graduation was not a graduation. This school is unorganized. The equipment would not work and theey would pass anyone just to get theeir money. Again do not attend theis school. Really get all thee information you can out of schools first.

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (5)

    • Reviewed by: Anda que te coja un burro B, Master in on October 12th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      OK, went to Kaplan for a short time and let me tell you, it was HELL. This place just cares about looking good on TV, they are a good school for someone who dropped out and needs to restart but for anyone smart enough to figure out that there are 1,000s of other schools 10 times better than this well, you WILL decide on somewhere else. People say, " Oh yeah the teachers are so great and everyone is so nice," well who do you think wrote that review *cough* teacher *cough*. I would NEVER recommend this to ANYONE, not even the dumbest of the dumb.

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (9)

    • Reviewed by: rose h, Certificate in on October 13th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      i would not recommmend this school to any citizens ,unless you have extra money,and like building a name reputation for the quick crash course,there goal is not to see you achieve your goal of education but to make sure you stand out there name and walk the line of stage when you graudate and so they can take a picture,the board of education needs to go in and clean house on this site and see how they do not achive the sites that the student is sent to,for there training and they mental abuse the student for asking questions on ther education.how do i know cause i am a victim of this college.so please do not attend unless you have money to give away.and for the staff they need to go back to school and get educated,and have maybe an office manager review there performance.and make them clean up there cubes of employess who have nothing but gand related picture on there desk,this will be sent of to education board of directers and finaciallt instutions that are paying out an media,

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (7)

    • Reviewed by: Mike B, Certificate in on November 4th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I just got a phone call from a kaplan college in midland texas, that woman needs to learn how to respect people`s privacy, don`t ask personel questions, what company are you working for, where? how much? and when ?, don`t be sarcastic, truck driving is a good job by the way, after that phone call kaplan will be the last place i`ll look at.

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (8)

    • Reviewed by: Rosario M, in on November 15th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      This school totally SUCKS!!!! You pay all this money to get your degree and then you find out its WORTHLESS. Google kaplan college riverside news and you will find out what i mean.
      This school gives you all these books and you only use half of them and half of those are outdated. As long as you attend class everyday you will pass the class even if you don't do the work. The tests are soooo easy because the day before they give you all the answer so all you have to do is memorize the multiple choice and if you still fail they give you another chance to do the test again. So is it fair for others that do the work and study and at the end you get the same grade as the other people that don't do anything? Another thing about this dumb school is half of the work you have to do has anything to do with what you there for. For example we had a project about selling computer programs?????What is that about.
      After you graduate and need help looking for a job all they say is we will contact you to make an appointment so they can go over job opportunities and they NEVER call you all they do is ignore your calls.

      Please DO NOT go to this school its a waste of time and money!!!!!!

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (10)



    submit review

    Reviews Disclaimer: GetDegrees.com makes reviews freely available via this site. The views and opinions expressed by users do not reflect the views and opinions of GetDegrees.com. GetDegrees.com expressly disclaims any and all liability in connection with the content of any reviews.

    Want More Information about Kaplan College?

    To receive more information about the degree programs offered by Kaplan College, simply click the request school info button and complete the short form.

    Request School Info

    Related Searches

  • request school info