dcsimg
You are here:
Matching School Ad

Northcentral University Reviews

There are currently 8 reviews of Northcentral University

 
  • School Reviews
  • Request School Info submit review
    Northcentral University
    Sort By:
    • Reviewed by: Day K on May 19th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      The program is supposed to be hard!!! You can hear negative comments about programs at any school....I work at a college and can tell you that the instructors who get the most complaints are usually the ones that are maintaining a high standard. Those that students love are often not providing the level of instruction that is needed. As I continue my studies....I am glad that I am being ask to stretch and meet a high standard. High standards are what I expect for my money.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (2)

    • Reviewed by: Lorrie R on April 20th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I was not expecting the professionalism and rigor I am currently receiving at NCU. As a current doctoral student in the educational leadership department, I will tell you that this university has provided outstanding curriculum, resources, and support. Working full-time as a high school principal and enrolled in a Ph.D. program is not easy. However, the professors and staff at NCU make this process so much easier than I ever expected. Those who are complaining must not be true independent learners. This school has high expectations (very well articulated in each course and through the school-wide rubrics). Each student must learn to prioritize and invest the time and commitment here. If the school continues in the direction it is going, I believe its reputation will continue to grow strong! I can fully understand, having gone through the accreditation process, why this on-line school received regional accreditation. In many ways, it is even better than some of the programs at local B & M schools and universities.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (4)

    • Reviewed by: Dale T on December 21st, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      This university is a very fine school predicated on the assumption that you will work very hard for your degree. If you are looking for a free ride do not attend as NCU expects the student to perform and will hold you accountable. Oustanding mentorship. I rate this university very high due to the level of expectations to apply what you have learned.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (1)

    • Reviewed by: NCU grad U on August 3rd, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      The problems I encountered at NCU are no different than the ones I encountered at regular universities and colleges. You have to work hard at this school. Additionally, you have to assume full responsibility to make sure you have people you can work with including teachers, advisors, chairs and committee members. If you failure to be successful in these relationships, you may fail classes or your program. If one needs the convenience of taking courses from an online accredited school, NCU is recommended but be prepared for hard work and continual communication.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (2)

    • Reviewed by: Dan T on July 31st, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      NCU is a fine university that has a strong academic focus. At the same time, I agree it is NOT for everybody. Students of distance learning programs ARE expected to be comfortable with a high degree of self-directed study. I did my Masters from a reputable and traditional B&M (via distance learning) so I can tell you that the NCU experience was even more challenging and worthy. I am proud of my time spent at NCU.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (3)

    • Reviewed by: Daisy G, in on February 20th, 2011
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      This school is run as a business. There is no interest in students as human beings. My professor was suddenly changed in the middle of a course and no explanations given. So the new teacher could not refer to my previous work. I am taking the 5th class, no paper was ever returned with comments, just a line about it and a grade based on nothing. They only write to you to tell you they charged your credit card!

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (0)

    • Reviewed by: Michael D on October 2nd, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      NCU has its advantages and disadvantages. Fundamental courses are fine but the hell starts at the Concept Paper Stage. At that level, you will wish you never started your studies with the school. Please, before you finally decide to be a learner at the school, do your homework well. As a learner currently at the school, I cannot recommend a friend to join me at NCU. Please, I repeat, the hell starts at the Concept Paper Stage of your doctoral program.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (3)

    • Reviewed by: thom w, Doctoral in administrative-assistant-degrees on July 28th, 2011
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I have completed all the coursework for the NCU PhD-Business Admin., however I cannot get a dissertation proposal approved after all this time. NCU is of no help at this point.

      Is there an educational institution somewhere that would accept my NCU work in order to complete a degree?

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (6)

    submit review

    Reviews Disclaimer: GetDegrees.com makes reviews freely available via this site. The views and opinions expressed by users do not reflect the views and opinions of GetDegrees.com. GetDegrees.com expressly disclaims any and all liability in connection with the content of any reviews.

    Want More Information about Northcentral University?

    To receive more information about the degree programs offered by Northcentral University, simply click the request school info button and complete the short form.

    Request School Info

    Related Searches

  • request school info