dcsimg
You are here:
Matching School Ad

Recording Arts Canada Reviews

There are currently 9 reviews of Recording Arts Canada

 
  • School Reviews
  • submit review
    Recording Arts Canada
    Sort By:
    • Reviewed by: Tony M on March 26th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I think this school is great!!! Was there last year and had a great time. Had tons of good information, can now work in any production environment because they gave me a real professional background as well as advance stuff that most students from other "recording" school don't even cover. Obviously not all students have the same experience thru education, I did see people bragging about the school here and there, and the ones who do that are mostly students that realize after a while that they may not totally "have it" for the professional world and start blaming the school for them not being that good. I saw the school doing all the efforts in the world to provide the best experience and education always.. but there's always people that will complaint. For me, this is the best school in Canada. If you want great education and become a professional that can work in any studios and production environment, this is your school! If you want to become famous, without doing any efforts and still think you're great.. go somewhere else.. there's plenty of school that would tell you what you want to hear. Yes there is a price to education, you could invest that money in gear and learn slowly, you may be able to do very good stuff, but it doesn't mean you'll be become and/or get hired in a professional environment either! There's tons of success story from that school, the difference is that they don't only spend their time and energy focusing on advertising it per se, as other school may do... sometimes actually manipulating the information to reflect false story where a guy got grammys and so on, when they were just assistant bringing coffee... This is a hard industry to get in, regardless of the school you're coming from, this is a school that would at least give you a chance to succeed, and won't bullshit you about it, even from the beginning.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (13)

    • Reviewed by: Darren B on February 12th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      You will receive a basic education in audio recording but it probably won;t prepare you to work in the industry out the door. Oh, and if you're over 30 and want to take this class forget it. The school will say they want you but once you're in the door they'll they'll you there's an industry age bias and then they'll play into that themselves; making older students feel out of place and actually joining in with the younger students in teasing the older students because of this. Disgusting, but it will be the exact same way out in the industry. Be prepared to do battle with weasles for a long time before reaching any (if any) success through this course and just don't bother if you're over 25. I'm still waiting to hear about actual success stories from this school

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (19)

    • Reviewed by: Dave C, in on November 19th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I'm a summer 2008 student who graduated in sound recording program. Seriously, this is a strong program. A lot of work to do, a lot of practice in class with real gears and real projects, real recording with real band, on-location recording outside and inside, sound creation, live sound, music creation, sound creation and a lot more. Teachers and instructors are very good and qualified from universities or similar formations with big background in music productions / CD Productions / studio experiences.
      Personally, I do sound recording and live sound and all the teaching that I've received help so much.
      Quality goes with good knowledge and good knowledge in audio is RAC!

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (7)

    • Reviewed by: Harrison e, Associate in digital-media-arts-schools on June 17th, 2013
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      this is a rundown from someone who now works in the industry and attended the finest music institution in the world after this one. This was my first times away at college, I had moved to montreal to start school,i was very passionate and excited. After a month of being there, I started to see the holes in it. teachers were not co-ordinated, they were overlapping and teaching things that we had no foundation of. Teachers were quiting, we had new profs who could barely even speak english. I was told that when I signed up if i had any concerns I could come and talk to them about it. after sending a professional email asking for some time to talk, the administration consisting of a man named "laure" and "paula" pulled me before what they called a "review board" and told me I was the problem not the school. After I left the meeting I wrote down everything they said to me. I stumbled upon it recently and figured I owed it to myself to tell my story. The following is what adult professionals running a school said to a brand new 18 year old student. That I am a "smartass" and it was not my place to speak. I had to go to what they called a "class representative" to voice my opinions. That I must "prove myself" and that I must be "held accountable" for my actions. they laughed at me, told me I sit in the back of the class, I am a habitual cheater, I am the "ringleader" of negativity. The administrator "laure" told me and i quote, "if you dont like it, you know where you can shove it."

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (14)

    • Reviewed by: Ex RAC student x, in digital-media-arts-schools on June 6th, 2012
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      Such a horrible school. There is nothing i can say thats good about the school. Over all it was a bad experience i dropped out in the second week i wanted my money back but decided to let it go. Then i laughed when they sent me another bill for the days i didnt go haha. Money grabbers can kiss my ass.

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (10)

    • Reviewed by: A.M C, Certificate in digital-media-arts-schools on March 2nd, 2012
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      The worst place on earth, the deception, money hungry owners who have no regards for the welfare of the students. I would also strongly agree that the positive ratings were done by one of the owners they are that unscrupulous. I paid $14,000.00 for nothing but a bunch of lies and mediocre classes. I will strongly disuade anyone from pursuing studies at that school. Go to a recognized college..

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (14)

    • Reviewed by: J S, Bachelor in film-video-production-degrees on October 27th, 2011
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I would agree strongly with the poor reviews of this school. please i beg you, if you are not someone who is wealthy enough to throw away $14,000, then invest your money in a better place of education. you will regret it sincerely if you attend this school, the staff do not communicate whatsoever between each other and there are many many curriculum issues. I attended the school last year and this is what happened. the dean of the college just left one day, so did the registrar, and so did 4 of the 6 teachers. Something is really wrong at the school and no one would tell you anything, people were very disorganized. Most of my classes consisted on very drawn on lectures and the teacher surfing through youtube for more than half the class. It was infuriating. seriously, ask to sit in on a class, dont be fooled by the initial tour you get of the facilities. This school was an unhappy place, and everyone knew it. I would almost go as far as to say one of the administration wrote the positive review of the school below me. this is one of the worst places to get a recording arts education.

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (13)

    • Reviewed by: Steven L, in on November 11th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      The worst school, i cannot believe they are still in business. Ridiculous amount of money for the education you are offered. Ridiculous instructor and administration staff turn over rate. 75% of our class were ready to drop out and file a complaint due to broken promises, when complained we were threatened by the owner of the school and one student was kicked out. For $13000 they spelled my name wrong on my diploma. I am embarrassed to tell people i went to this school. Don't go to a private school, go to a recognized college

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (22)

    • Reviewed by: Tom T on March 7th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      Keep the money and buy equipment with it! Not worth it. Or do formation in a studio that offers it. I went to recording arts and a waste of money. If you,re really good, less godo student will just keep you from going forward because they take the teacher's or instructor's time so they can't help you to do more advance stuff. The program is really weak, sicne you don,t learn the basics, you learn the introduction to the basics. Also, they threated me like ****, when I told them that the program was weak, but threated bad students like they were the kings (because you're paying them, they don't care after the money what's happening) There's a huge teacher rotation (don,t know any who stayed more than 2 years, because of the administration being like that.
      Anyways, buy gear with the money and do practice formations, not theory, because the theory is easy and that's what you'll do most of the time at RAC. A waste of time and money (especially money)

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (17)

    submit review

    Reviews Disclaimer: GetDegrees.com makes reviews freely available via this site. The views and opinions expressed by users do not reflect the views and opinions of GetDegrees.com. GetDegrees.com expressly disclaims any and all liability in connection with the content of any reviews.

    Related Searches