You are here:
Matching School Ad

South University Reviews

There are currently 17 reviews of South University

 
  • School Reviews
  • submit review
    South University
    Sort By:
    • Reviewed by: Taylor L, Bachelor in computer-engineering-degrees on November 6th, 2013
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      My experiences with this school have been as expected. The admissions process is pushy and they rush you in the door only AFTER finding out what you hope to accomplish. As far as expensive, welcome to the for-profit world of higher education. I also have to wonder if the students publishing negative reviews were failing or have failed out. If you fail one class three times you are dropped from the school. The classes are very informational and a lot goes into one class. One more thing, I have seen so many comments about not being able to talk to someone after they said they would call everyday. This is an institute for higher education and just like every school, you have to do the work without a babysitter. Word of advice is do your homework before picking a school (online or on-campus) to attend.

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (1)

    • Reviewed by: LA F, Master in family-practice-nurse on August 6th, 2013
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I cannot agree with the negative comments that I am seeing, so for my experience is very professional. I wonder if the students reporting negatives were failing?

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (9)

    • Reviewed by: Traci M on April 17th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      Current student at SUO and the teacher is excellent. My academic advisor is Lauren Walker and she is so wondeful!! She really cares...not to mention the resources available really help me!! I wish that we had live chat discussions like Kaplan University (former student) but everything is all good and nice!!

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (10)

    • Reviewed by: Linda H on March 15th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I will graduate from South University in December 2010 with a bachelor's degree in Legal Studies. I am 60 years old and had never been to college before entering this program in June 2008. This school has changed my life. The staff and faculty are all very encouraging and willing to assist in any way to help students meet their goals.
      Education is expensive but many students don't get their money's worth because they're not willing to put in the time and effort required to succeed. Many students think they can work full-time and go to school full-time, either on campus or online, but they think online should be easier and not require as much of their time. South University's online classes aren't taught by teachers who will give away grades even if the work isn't being done; expect online classes to be difficult and you won't be disappointed. Students tend to overload themselves with too many classes and then blame the school when they can't finish the work.
      I would highly recommend South University to anyone, whether just out of high school or an older student. Success requires hard work but South gives students the tools, encouragement, and training to succeed.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (17)

    • Reviewed by: David M on January 21st, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I have taken 21 online courses at South University and they have all been taught by highly qualified professors. With the online program full-time students take two courses in the first session and one course in the second of two 6.5 week session, equaling one college quarter. This will give you 16 courses a year (4 college quarter) or 64 credit hours and will allow you to graduate in 3 years. However, with the Federal funded “Direct loan” program freshmen and sophomores are only given enough funds for part-time status. I am a junior now and receive just enough to take a full course load. In short, SUO studies is about 100-200 pages per night of reading and research, plus 3 – 5 writing assignment per week. Students must respond to their peers and professor and vice-versa throughout the week on an open bulletin board format. It is a great way to learn for the computer generation because you correspond via text and become very comfortable putting your thoughts into words. Plus, there are some video tutorials that can help you with most any subject. Lastly, I have become proficient at self- learning, which is a GREAT thing.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (11)

    • Reviewed by: Heather B on November 19th, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      Gen G. anyone with the ability to do math can tell your review is a flat out lie. The classes cost $1444 each. The only way you paid $6000 for one class is if you failed it several times and continued to take it over again. As for the school telling you, "You have no choice, you will pay whatever we decide to charge you..." I again call BS. No company, much less a school would respond in that way...try again.

      I have no idea why it is you're so disgruntled, but it is so incredibly obvious that your "tale of woe" is full of holes and in short, a huge lie. I believe you need to sit down and reassess what it is that has caused you to have this sort of reaction. At the bare minimum you should be honest with yourself!

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (14)

    • Reviewed by: Lamaris D on October 16th, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I've been with South University since April of this year(2009) and I've had nothing but a great experience with the school and I don't believe for one minute that anyone from South University said anything negative to anybody. You just have to work hard to obtain the grades you want and then you will be successful at doing what you're trying to do. You going to have to pay more for a online degree because of how it is delivered to you electronically and gives you the chance to do your assignments on your own schedule. South University is Great!

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (5)

    • Reviewed by: tina S on July 27th, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I have been at South University for about a year now, and absolutely love it. You do get out of it what you put into it. The online classes do require a lot of discipline and self study. I have learned so much since joining the school. Most of the teachers/professors I have had thus far have been more than helpful in explaining problems in depth.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (7)

    • Reviewed by: Rebecca B on July 2nd, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I have recently graduated from the South University MBA program in Marketing and I have spent the past 15 years in the field. I really thought that there was going to be little to learn but that turned out not to be the case. The professors are mostly working professionals in their field and give you a lot of insight into real-world learning.

      You definately get out of it what you put into it and I came away with the confidence I needed to secure a much higher position in my field. I now work with strategies for marketing plans and ad campaigns and use the tools I have aquired. I work for a 4,300 employee healthcare organization and feel I can make a difference.

      I would recommend their MBA program.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (6)

    • Reviewed by: Sammy D on June 5th, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I have been attending the online program for the past 6 months. I have been verbally abused by some of the Professors. I have not really learned much, the Professors don't teach, you teach yourself. I may earn a degree but probably won't know what I am doing because your average 10 year old could probably obtain an A in most of the classes!

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (3)



    submit review

    Reviews Disclaimer: GetDegrees.com makes reviews freely available via this site. The views and opinions expressed by users do not reflect the views and opinions of GetDegrees.com. GetDegrees.com expressly disclaims any and all liability in connection with the content of any reviews.

    Related Searches