dcsimg
You are here:
Matching School Ad

South University Reviews

There are currently 17 reviews of South University

 
  • School Reviews
  • submit review
    South University
    Sort By:
    • Reviewed by: Jermaine D on May 14th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I have been with the university for almost a year now. I have been taking classes part time (one course every 5 1/2 weeks). This school does help students to complete their degree. There's almsot a personal touch, to make sure you understand the matieral. The only real problem I had, I attended a math course. In 5 1/2 weeks you go through a lot of matieral. Basically you may need to master several items before your quiz. Needless to say, I received an "F" for the course. But so far everything else I have been receiving "A's". Just turn the work in on time and have it fully completed, comment on at least 2 people and anyone will do well at this school. I know, that's the same thing we hear while we where in high school and other colleges and still end up with bad grades. I have to say these classes do not focus on test and quizes. Some classes my have them, but its not so heavy that if you fail every quiz that you fail the course. It may be a 1/3rd of your grade, but you can still make it. I like the fact that this school has almost taken out the "bais" that some teachers can have at physical schools.

      If you are looking for an online school, you have found the best one. But if you are "weak" in subjects as math, I highly suggest communicating with the school and find a junior college to attend and complete those courses and have them transfered over.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (10)

    • Reviewed by: Paulette M on January 31st, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I have been enrolled part-time with S.U. since May 2009. I am a 48 yr old single divorced mom with no prior college experience. I have had mostly a great experience with this school. Most of the instructors I have had have been totally professional. I have only had one instructor that was not very helpful or attentive. I tried not to judge the school based on the conduct of one instructor. As I get deeper into my field which is Criminal Justice, I am finding my classmates to be more engaging than those that were in my entry-level classes. It is a lot of hard work but when isn't it worth it to work hard to better yourself?

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (7)

    • Reviewed by: Holly S on January 26th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I took classes from SUO and it was an absolute pain. I graduated high school passing 2 advanced placement exams (ENC 1101 and 1102), already had my AA, took upper level math courses, and had my RN. They wanted me to repeat my english courses even though they were added to my AA already and repeat a remedial math course! Which in case you have never done an online math course you spend so much time trying to type out entire equations, their solutions, having discussions based on "why you decided to solve the problem the way you did" AND type out each step in the canceling out of this and borrowing of that, it would take me nearly 2 hours to answer 2 problems I could have done in 30 seconds with pen and paper! I also didn't like having to work every other weekend and still having 3 papers due on saturday and 2 on sunday! If you want to take the fast track to your degree SUO does move fast. but don't expect to be able to work at the same time unless you spend your days off doing hours and hours of reading and research. The discussions, however, I did like. That is why I give a 2 and not a 1 rating. I have dropped from SUO and am now attending a state online university program.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (14)

    • Reviewed by: Keisha T, Bachelor in medical-claims-examiner on February 20th, 2013
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE dont go to this school. Its the WORST place on the earth. The worst and very unprofessional Financial Aid personal. Horrible quality of education. Some teachers are still taking classes for their Masters degree. VERY expensive and NOT worth it. DONT attend any private universities!!! They all about money not the quality of education.

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (6)

    • Reviewed by: Tina S, Bachelor in psychology-schools on February 7th, 2013
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I have been attending SUO for a little over two years! I have been having the worst time and experiences a person could have at a school. The ONLY reason I have not did a transfer is because the school says it will mess up my financial aid. I have many issues with the school, such as pricing and paying for the school, my professors slack in their response time and teach not a thing. The price of the school goes up every six months, I was completely lied to during admission and I feel like I am being scammed for my money, and now I am stuck!!!!! Do not go into the school or any school without doing some research about the school!

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (6)

    • Reviewed by: Jean F, Bachelor in on April 20th, 2011
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I have attended South for only one term. I was formerly a Kaplan University student and could not wait to get back. I like being able to interact with other students and ask question to an instructor versus e-mail and discussion board post which can go unanswered or provide vague response which require more e-mail. I completed my term with a 4.0 and at the end of my term I was told by my financial aid officer that the registrars office failed to complete my paperwork in time for my financial aid to pay for my eductaion. Due to their failure to meet the deadline, I was told I had to pay $3000 in order to continue my education. I felt llike I was just "scammed" into enrolling. The course material for the classes I took was very outdated and unrelated to today job market. The instructors could have been automated or janitors since there was limited interaction or response to discussion board post and various topics. For those that make South work for them, I think it is solely do to good search engine results. I did not read anything but Google and Bing search results to get a 4.0 for the term. Due to the poor quality of service and failing to proved a quality education, I returned to Kaplan and will advise anyone that if you can not attend South University on campus then avoid the "scam" and go elsewhere

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (19)

    • Reviewed by: Gen G on March 4th, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I was charged $6000 for one 4-credit course. I was told by their admissions department when I applied the cost was $168 a credit hour. When I disputed the charges I was told "You have no choice, you will pay whatever we decide to charge you."
      I also tried to withdraw from a class using their policy and was told the written policy was not the way it worked.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (12)



    submit review

    Reviews Disclaimer: GetDegrees.com makes reviews freely available via this site. The views and opinions expressed by users do not reflect the views and opinions of GetDegrees.com. GetDegrees.com expressly disclaims any and all liability in connection with the content of any reviews.

    Related Searches