You are here:
Matching School Ad

Stevens-Henager College Reviews

There are currently 17 reviews of Stevens-Henager College

 
  • School Reviews
  • Request School Info submit review
    Stevens-Henager College
    Sort By:
    • Reviewed by: Richard J, Bachelor in computer-science-degree on November 26th, 2013
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I have hade a great time at this school and would recommend it to ant one that is a hard worker. if you are lazy or not able to commit to the work its not for you move on and shut up. all of my instructors have gone above the call of duty to help me with any I have not understood. if you have a chip on your shoulder people see your attitude and seam to not want to help you, you get what you give. I love this school and hope to see you there. good luck in your search of the school that fits you.

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (1)

    • Reviewed by: Janice P, Bachelor in on October 18th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      Awful as far as education goes. However, if you really want to learn how to scam people that have no money out of more money, you should join and observe!

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (4)

    • Reviewed by: Brittani D, Associate in on September 2nd, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I just started class at Stevens-Henager in Ogden, Ut. I chose Medical Specialities course because of the multiple opportunities and jobs that will be opened to me. I actually missed 2 of the 4 classes this week because a friend of mine put doubts in my head. Instead of quitting, I started researching and answered my questions about the college. I decided that I had made the right decision to attend Stevens-Henegar. The class I am in is perfect for a starter class. It is a motivational class, just what I needed!! Everyone is different and we all have different goals and dreams. I am a married mother of two. Going back to school was a HUGE decision for me to make. I have been BLOWN away at how much the staff wants to help me! I found out that the admissions people DO NOT make any comission off the registering students. They receive a base pay. So far, I LOVE this school and the flexability of classes is second to none. I am recomending everyone I know that is ready to make a change in their life!!

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (7)

    • Reviewed by: Jayme C, Associate in on July 29th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I attended Stevens Henager Murray campus as an online student. Shortly after starting classes that were taught by the dean of the department I was shocked to find out she didn't know anything about the subjects that she was teaching.

      I had to tell her why her demonstrations didn't work for her HTML class. She gave us online tutorials to learn HTML. Then I had her for photography again she didn't even know what "Depth of Field" was she kept saying "Field of Depth". She also didn't know how to use Dreamweaver.

      I complained about her not knowing the subjects she was teaching. After all if you are paying almost 40K for the education you expect some quality to it. Three years later the dean is still in her position and hiring people to teach subjects that she knows nothing about.

      I got a threatening email from the dean of education because of my complaints and the fact that I came to the school to talk to him without an appointment. I dropped out after the first so called semester, thinking that it was like other colleges and financial aid was paid per semester, nope.

      Six months after I dropped I received a letter for $4000.00. I went in to talk to the financial person and was informed that they draw financial aid on a per year basis. She informed me that if I reapplied and finished the program the $4000.00 would be forgiven. Not so after I finished the program I got a bill for $4385.00, yep they added interest while I finished the program!

      They also email you through your public email system which I understand is illegal. This is because their Angel system is always crashing. While I attended it was down for a whole week and classes only last 4 wks.

      Because of my complaints I wasn't informed about graduation and when I became upset about that (I am charged in my tuition for this) I was called an idiot and told that it was posted all over the school, keep in mind that I was an online student and didn't go to the school.

      My daughter is also in the Graphic Art program and has had to have the dean of the department for her classes and the dean has treated her unrespectful in front of her classmates.

      I know that an instructor at the school is now a business partner with a student and that student is a self admitted gang member. It should be against policy to be in business of any kind with a student!

      My daughter has had to listen to all the little gang members that attend this campus talk about sex, gang affiliation etc. These students should be kicked out.

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (6)

    • Reviewed by: po' D on May 17th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      if you can't get a refund from SHC and have worked with them a lot to try because this school is a scam try http://www.ombudsman.ed.gov/ to have someone investigate and help you!

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (5)

    • Reviewed by: PaperJack . on May 17th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      Stevens Henager College is an absolute joke, at least for computer science and at the Ogden, UT location. I graduated but haven't been able to use my "degree". It has a reputation in Utah that it is a joke and truly, it is. The instructors are people "in the industry", really just people looking for work and settle on "teaching" while they are looking but none of them are teachers and so cannot teach. I interviewed many times and there were a few that actually laughed right in fron of me when asked about my degree and when I mentioned SHC they snickered or looked at the other people in the interview with a big smile on their face.
      When I went there I just wanted to take one or two classes on what I had already been teaching myself at home. I was assured I could do that at SHC. I was outright lied to by the admissions lady. When I showed up on the first day of classes and found i had a schedule with all these classes i did not want I attempted to get out but was told because I signed the contract I could not get out of it and the only way I could was to pay $10,000 immediately!
      I complained the whole time I attended my classes but was told over and over they would find me a JOB after graduation. All they did was send me jobs from monster i was already receiving on my own. It was ridiculous.
      They graded on attendance and nothing else. My work was not even looked at by instructors. We had a paper to write on object oriented programming or OOP and I wrote on and on about OOP being POO spelled backwards and wrote about dog poo and enemas and all things poo and got an A! on the paper because the instructor liked me!!! Obviously he didn't even glance over it... Once he even assign homework (le gasp!) and some of the people complained to the president of the school who got mad at the instructor and for a week we did not have an instructor, just a guy who worked for the school in PR trying his best to teach us, no way!. Because the head of the CS department was self-taught he believed that was the best way to learn so if you ended up in his class you just went through the book on your own doing the projects on your own. If I wanted to do that I would have stayed home for four hours a day and taught myself, the only problem is I couldn't get a "degree" heh, from myself. When you think Stevens Henager College think work for them not go to school for them. Way easy job to grade someone on attendance and not have to teach or assign or grade homework. Makes me sick, no job now, was laid off in 2002 from my sales job at a software company and have only had crap jobs since but i still have my $35,000 student loan.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (3)

    • Reviewed by: Missy M on April 19th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I love this college! I am sorry for anyone that has had a negative experience. This college (especially) the online division deserves way more credit than what is being given. I am an undergraduate student that studies full-time, works full-time, and has children to attend to. The courses are quite convenient and flexible. Countless times I have studied and taken my course in my PJ's. I love this school, and plan to go all of the way. I have learned WAY MORE at this college than any other "online" college that I have attended. I attended University of Phoenix several times "trying" to make it work, and had a horrible experience. Stevens-Henager quality and online student portal is way more efficient, and similar to other universities. I have been able to apply the knowledge obtained directly at my job, and it is landing me with a promotion. So before you bash the quality of this school, please do your research. This school is not for everyone and no it is not cheap. But, for some it is obtainable, especially if you receive tuition reembursement from your employer, like myself. College education costs are on the rise...so unless you want to spend countless time at a community college, I would say Stevens' rates are competitive for an online accellerated school. UOP is way higher.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (15)

    • Reviewed by: Angry S on March 24th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      Absolute worst school. Go ANYWHERE ELSE to get your degree. The faculty are rude and incompetent! The classes are decent and you will learn as long as you put forth some effort, but you can get a much better experience anywhere else. I started in October 2006 and keep getting the run around about my graduation date. for 4 years of my life I could have gone somewhere else! I wish I had. Attending this school is the biggest regret I will ever have in my life. And I will probably be paying it off for the duration of my existence as well. They are extremely expensive and do not provide the quality you would THINK you would get for $50,000!!!!!!!!! ridiculous. RUN AWAY FROM THIS PLACE!

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (3)

    • Reviewed by: Jessica J on March 19th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      The education part was fine and I learned a lot. The biggest thing that I learned was that the financial aide department is not there to help you! I checked with them three months before graduation and they said that everything was fine. Then a month before graduation they sprang another 1500.00 dollar bill on me. Just note that in the fine print all prices are "estimations" and know that the price will go up in the end!

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (5)

    • Reviewed by: d G on March 16th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      from high school to college. from college to SHC. if you're expecting to graduate faster because its easier you ARE wrong. in hs you are baby fed. in college you are half way learning to feed yourself. SHC is the whole shabang. no one to baby sit you. get off your butt and work, and you will recieve a fine education.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (13)



    submit review

    Reviews Disclaimer: GetDegrees.com makes reviews freely available via this site. The views and opinions expressed by users do not reflect the views and opinions of GetDegrees.com. GetDegrees.com expressly disclaims any and all liability in connection with the content of any reviews.

    Want More Information about Stevens-Henager College?

    To receive more information about the degree programs offered by Stevens-Henager College, simply click the request school info button and complete the short form.

    Request School Info

    Related Searches

  • request school info