dcsimg
You are here:
Matching School Ad

The Art Institute of Pittsburgh - Online Division Reviews

There are currently 40 reviews of The Art Institute of Pittsburgh - Online Division

 
  • School Reviews
  • submit review
    The Art Institute of Pittsburgh - Online Division
    Sort By:
    • Reviewed by: Josh B on March 10th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I am currently a student with the Art Institute of Pittsburgh Online and I absolutely love it. My admissions advisor is amazing. My academic advisor is amazing and I am really enjoying this. I was reading the reviews on how negative everyone is. But where are all the good reviews. oh wait they are probably too busy being successfull and not worrying about complaining about the school. I talked to my Academic counselor today about all these reviews and asked her several questions. she gave me honest and truthful answers and gave me alot of feedback. Look at the Art institute career services that should speak for itself. If you are serious about going back to school i would strongly recommend this school. don't let all these negative feedbacks change your mind. I am in my second class and im still loving it. I learn something new everyday. I am kind of getting sick with all these negative reviews. my admissions advisor still emails me all the time!!!!! His dedication to my success is why i am going to school right now. Yes i was a little hesitant at first too. But i need a kick in the ass. i was working at wendy's a dead end job. and now i am going to school and i actually enjoy it. like i said this school is great. im going to contact the other students in my classes to read these and see what they say. You can always email me with any questions. footballrulz37@yahoo.com

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (3)

    • Reviewed by: Tyler J on March 2nd, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I didn't even enroll and my experiences with this school were horrible!

      I requested information. After that, I was harassed with tons of calls! I told one of my many academic advisors that I didn't want to start the semester and that I couldn't overlook the financial aid plan composed for me because my internet was down due to inclement weather. I talked to the advisor on a Thursdays and told the advisor that the internet repairman wouldn't be out to fix the internet till Wednesday, so that I would talk to her then. From Friday to Tuesday, I received 9 phone calls and 11 emails! I finally went to a friends on Tuesday to look at the plan and what a mistake!

      I didn't approve an option or even say that I wanted to enroll, and I received an email the next day telling me that I needed to buy books for my first class! They had already enrolled me without my permission! To disenroll me has taken four phone calls and three emails! Now, I'm still receiving emails about enrolling next semester, even though I told them I won't be enrolling at all now! Stay away from the Art Institutes!

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (4)

    • Reviewed by: Danny G on February 27th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      Overall I have had a great experience with them and have learned a lot so far. I am a part time student and it works out with my schedule so thats great. When calling the call center sometimes it is a little bit hard to get in contact with whoever. From my experience if you just send a email they will call you back the next day or write you back "which has been successful for me". As for the classes that aren't necessary that was stated earlier in one of the post's. I mean they have general education classes that you have to take and most of the work builds up to what your main focus is whether its graphic,fashion,interior design etc. If you're looking to just learn about graphic design straight up I would just go buy a book on the history of it and look up some tutorials. You can know how to do an art form, but you may not have knowledge of the form and thats why you go to school "art institute". Ive had the same negative or positive experiences with on ground campus also so theres really no difference.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (4)

    • Reviewed by: Stephen K on February 24th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      Hi Everyone! I found this site, and see that several people are having trouble getting in contact with their finacial aid advisors. We recently changed our phone system here so all the extensions are different. Please call me at 1-877-872-8869 ext. 34316 and I will get you over to whomever it is you are looking for! Hope this helps!

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (3)

    • Reviewed by: Jennfer C on December 12th, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      So I too applied to the Division. But I should have research it more thoroughly. Does anyone know how to withdraw other than trying to deal with them directly????
      Thanks, I hope everyone has better luck else where.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (1)

    • Reviewed by: KynDarryl H, Bachelor in on August 29th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      So far I have attended this school for about a year already and I am proud to say I enjoy every bit of everything I am learning. The courses I am taking are helping learn what I need to know and I am gaining exceptional knowledge. The only problem I have with the school is getting my financial aid and award letters. Over-all this is a great school.

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (6)

    • Reviewed by: Mick A on April 20th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I want to address Frank's review (April 13th, 2010) so that the curious few who do read these comments do not get the wrong impression of the Art Institute.

      First of all, one should be cautious about trusting people who are so easily duped. Frank contends that he was practically bullied by the school's recruiters.

      "They will pressure you to join."

      "They will pressure you about agreeing to the financial plan and give you little explanation and a lot of attitude."

      "...behold- you are now responsible for paying the $2000 for the class you decided you didn't want to take."

      Wow, Frank. I have some magic pebbles that I would like to sell to you for a mere $1000. Compared to the money you spent on a "worthless" education, this is quite a deal for you!

      The Art Institute has been in existence since 1921 and has been accredited by the ACICS. While the online program is still awaiting its turn to be accredited, I highly doubt that the business and education practices for the online branch have deviated so severely from an institution which has not, in the past 89 years, done anything to earn the fly-by-night reputation that so many of these negative reviews would lead you to believe. Do you honestly think that such a business could continue to operate for so long with such shady practices?

      Here's what I think happened to most of the people on this site who "experienced" a shady situation at the Art Institute of Pittsburgh.

      1. They had no prior higher-education experience and were not prepared for the commitments of time and money.
      2. They discovered, soon after receiving the first of many poor grades on class assignments, that they could not simply purchase their degrees but instead had to actually work for them.
      3. The reality of their situations clashed with their inflated senses of self and they began to make irrational excuses.
      4. They have not had time to reflect on their failures. Instead, they decided to lash out at the one good opportunity they had but have now wasted.

      Read between the lines as you peruse these reviews and know that the exact same comments are made for EVERY university, though the ones for Ivy League schools usually don't have so many misspelled words. Also, they are not quick to bemoan the loss of $50,which is the standard (or minimum?) fee for application to a university.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (26)

    • Reviewed by: Mick A on April 8th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      Wow. Hey negative reviewers (I'm lumping you all together since your complaints are all basically the same)! Guess what? This kind of crap happens just about everywhere. Sure, I've had issues with some of the instructors at the Art Institute but I've also had problems with the same kind of people at highly rated, traditional colleges.

      Judging by the poor grammar and spelling mistakes in most of these bad reviews, I'm guessing that most of the authors could not succeed in high school and are discovering that it does not get any easier in college. Yep, that's right. These are not some Saturday afternoon "enrichment" courses at the local senior center. These are Big Boy and Girl classes, homies.

      Good luck teaching yourselves the material on your own, too. I wager most of those "texts" will end up collecting dust in your double-wides; probably propping up one end of your picture box. By the way, it's called television.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (17)

    • Reviewed by: Dave M on January 30th, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I have found that to receive a rapid and/or personal response to serious concerns such as financial matters, you have to escalate your requests to a supervisor, e.g. VP level. My advisor has changed two or three times but all have been responsive to emails and have even served as a central POC (point of contact) routing my requests to the appropriate department(s). I am a senior about to graduate. I believe the level of support is not as effective because of the tier one level structure of CSRs (client service representatives). The support design is much like that of a credit card call center (at least the reps are not in another country). I've also attended land-based institutions and they have similar personalization and response issues. I am pursuing a Masters degree immediately upon graduation, I'll see how the undergraduate value and quality of coursese carries over to the advanced degree institution with a follow up success story hopefully.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (1)

    • Reviewed by: Daimen B, Associate in graphic-design-schools on July 19th, 2011
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      If you are looking for a GAME ART school, GO ELSEWHERE. This is a "telemarketing" school and I use the term "school" loosely that only wants your money. The Financial Aid office stinks, and they will try to do as much business as they can by phone, they do not want a paper trail. try to get them to respond by e-mail is not going to happen if it is an issue that really matters, like your financial Aid. their graduation rate is 48%. Find a better school that will treat you like a person and not a number.

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (3)



    submit review

    Reviews Disclaimer: GetDegrees.com makes reviews freely available via this site. The views and opinions expressed by users do not reflect the views and opinions of GetDegrees.com. GetDegrees.com expressly disclaims any and all liability in connection with the content of any reviews.

    Related Searches