dcsimg
You are here:
Matching School Ad

The Art Institute of Pittsburgh - Online Division Reviews

There are currently 40 reviews of The Art Institute of Pittsburgh - Online Division

 
  • School Reviews
  • submit review
    The Art Institute of Pittsburgh - Online Division
    Sort By:
    • Reviewed by: BEEN B, Bachelor in graphic-design-schools on May 17th, 2011
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      DONT ENROLL IN THIS OR ANY OTHER EDMC SCHOOL>>>>>THEY ARE ALL ABOUT THE MONEY THEY GET BY TALKING YOU INTO STARTING IN CLASS. YOU WILL BE RESPONSIBLE FOR 45 to 90, 000 DOLLARS MINIMUM. THEY HAVE ZERO CONTROL OVER THEIR FACULTY & THEY HONESTLY DONT CARE IF YOU FINISH SCHOOL OR NOT!
      IF EDMC THE MANAGEMENT COMPANY FOR THE ART INSTITUTE TREATS THEIR STUDENTS LIKE THEY TREAT THEIR EMPLOYEES.....THEN RUN , DONT WALK>>>>>>>>>RUN FROM THEIR ADMISSIONS TACTICS!

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (4)

    • Reviewed by: John D, Associate in web-development-degrees on September 12th, 2013
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (1)

    • Reviewed by: Jason P, Certificate in marketing-degrees on April 22nd, 2012
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I took One Class before I realized how wrong this place was for me.
      This "Institution" is horrible. They are filled with sales reps called "counselors". This "Institution" is a for-profit educational system. Educate yourself on this before attending here.

      Here are Sources on For-Profit Schools:
      http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2010-12-28?
      http://www.cnbc.com/id/38412121/Greenber?
      http://www.cnbc.com/id/39675155/
      http://www.nytimes.com/2010/10/11/opinio?
      http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2010-08-05?
      http://www.post-gazette.com/pg/10361/111?
      http://blogs.seattleweekly.com/dailyweek?
      http://www.wcnc.com/on-tv/For-profit-tra?
      http://www.bloomberg.com/video/63231858/
      http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2010-12-09?

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (2)

    • Reviewed by: Jane C, Bachelor in on September 2nd, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      Starting out with the Art Institute of Pittsburgh Online was a good experience. I wouldn't say that it was great, but it wasn't bad. Toward the middle to end of my time there, things started to get worse and the costs started to skyrocket! Many of the teachers give "cookie cutter" answers to things and don't put forth any effort to help you learn - often docking you points without giving any reason. I have had a couple of good teachers but have really been disappointed with most of them.

      The advisors and financial aids are horrible! If you try to put any interest in the process of anything you find that they either don't know what they are talking about, or never get back to you! If you do go to the school, I suggest that you do everything over email (they will try to call you instead of responding to emails but don't let them). You really need the paper trails.

      I went to the AIO out of necessity since I wasn't able to move to a place where my degree was offered - given the opportunity, I would take it all back.

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (16)

    • Reviewed by: Jason M, Master in on August 2nd, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      Worst school ever! They are nothing more than telemarketers. They don't care about your education. They just want your money. Even if you tell them you're not interested or enroll at a different school, they will not leave you alone!

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (15)

    • Reviewed by: Jessica S on May 11th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      To Mick A. - I am sorry you feel the need to be judgmental toward other reviewers...and truly unkind. I believe the purpose of this site is to review the school- not criticize the people trying to do just that.

      I have a bachelors degree from Penn State, and wanted only to very casually gain access to more info on supplemental art education from this school. After including my phone number on an online questionnaire, I thought I might get a phone call. Never did I expect to be harassed and contacted repeatedly with the aim to have me complete a financial aid application. I was patient at first, but eventually got down right irritated. What reputable school needs to stoop to these lows to gain students? More importantly, with much of our country's population already falling into financial ruin and debt, is it really ethical for an education establishment to employee a staff of essentially, "telemarketers" to pray on those simply seeking to educate themselves? I find it unacceptable, and would never consider attending such a school.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (18)

    • Reviewed by: Em Y on May 3rd, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I too fell into the trap. Filled out the application on line, then it started: tons of phone calls, 7 to 10 of them a day, pressured beyond pressure to attend, and I finally caved. The first course session, was a total BORE. I mean a total BORE. It was more like some damned Carnegie course than anything I needed. The second session started, and once again, I was bored out of my mind, and the instructor did anything BUT instruct. The book for the second session was OUTDATED, and worthless.

      I withdrew today. I want a photography degree, but I want a degree that actually MEANS something. Look over the job placements for AiOPOL. Again, worthless. If you want to be a photographer in a shopping mall, or be a traveling photog for some store, and make only about 20 grand, you're in luck. Want to do serious work? Forget it.

      Don't even look this one over. Its a waste of time. All they want is the money the loans and grants will give them. "For Profit". That speaks volumes.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (19)

    • Reviewed by: Frank E on April 13th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      Do not go here you will regret it. Do not push the "Confirm Course" button in the Campus Common area unless you 1000% percent sure you want to take the class. Cause you can call in before the class even starts and ask to withdraw from this school and behold- you are now responsible for paying the $2000 for the class you decided you didn't want to take. They will pressure you to join. They will even convince you it's ok to start school late and that it'll be no problem to catch up. Lies! They will not be upfront about your expenses to go to this school. They will pressure you about agreeing to the financial plan and give you little explanation and a lot of attitude. The classes are a joke. They are not worth the money. You will get teachers that don't give a damn. Stay away from this place. I'm in debt the price of a car and I took 3 classes. Stay away from the Comp Lit class- you will be enraged that you spent that much money to get a crash course on Photoshop and Illustrator. Don't be fooled that the class will leave you feelin ready for your courses. Look for a school with a good reputatio that costs less. This was the biggest financial mistake I have made and in no means a step in the right direction to a brighter future.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (12)

    • Reviewed by: Tyler J on March 2nd, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      Like Shala B., I requested information on the Art Institutes and got sucked into the application process. What ensued, was absolute madness!

      I told my academic advisors, which I say "advisors" because I didn't just have one for some odd reason. Anyway, I told my academic advisors that I wasn't ready to start this semester, yet they pushed and pushed for me to start. They put together a financial plan and wanted me to look at it immediately as if I was going to start the semester.

      Once the financial plan was composed, I was harassed with over 14 calls in one week, and 22 emails because they wanted me to overlook the plan, even though I wasn't starting the semester. I was unable to look over the plan because my internet was down (due to weather) and I talked to one of my academic advisors about it on a Thursday night. I told my advisor that I wouldn't be able to talk till Wednesday (day internet repairman was coming) and I would call her then. What do you think happened? The next day I got a call from her, "Can we fax the plan to you?" I promptly told her, "No.", because I don't have a fax machine, and that I would talk to her Wednesday. Saturday, I got a call from my academic advisors boss, who was extremely harassing and said, "You don't have access to internet?", and then wanted to know why, and then said, "Can we fax it to you?" "No." Can we mail it to you?" "No." By Wednesday, even though I told one of my academic advisors on Thursday that I couldn't and wouldn't talk till Wednesday, I had received 9 phone calls and 11 emails. I finally bent to their pressure and agreed to go to a friends house to look over the plan. BIG MISTAKE! After showing me the plan, they then proceeded to tell me that if I didn't accept the plan now and lock it in, I probably wouldn't get one as good (which it wasn't a good plan anyway, I would be more than $28,000 in debt once I got out of school). So, I told them I would have to think about it and talk to my wife about it.

      The NEXT DAY I received an email from my SUPPOSED teacher saying that I needed to buy my books for my class and get ready for the semester! But, I hadn't even signed up for classes or given my permission that I was going to start, or had even accepted the financial plan! I emailed my supposed "teacher" and told her I wasn't enrolled, which she replied to by saying, "Well, you're on the rolls." Then I called one of my academic advisors. My advisor replied, "Well, was I wrong in thinking you wanted to start this semester." I said, "Yes. I never said anything of the sort. In fact, I told you I was just looking into it and I wasn't ready to start this semester at all. I didn't even accept the financial aid plan." She then proceeded to tell me that I shouldn't make my decision yet.

      The next day, which was Tuesday (the semester would start Thursday), I, for some odd reason, accepted the financial plan. I really don't know why I did. I think it was because of all the pressure and harassment. Thankfully, and also not so thankfully, I had some personal problems come up in my life (possible problems with my child, who was still in my wifes womb, thankfully those problems turned out to be nothing). I emailed my academic advisor and told her, "I need to un-enroll. Some personal things have come up." She then emailed back and said, "What happened? I thought everything was great and you were ready to start." I didn't really think it was her business, but I told her anyway. She the proceeded to reply to me and told me, "Well, I think you should wait and see what happens."

      I was furious, but decided to not reply, as it would be in anger. So, I waited till the next day (Wednesday, the day before classes began), to email her back. I still had the same decision and I said, "I need to be un-enrolled. If you could take care of that and just not ask any questions about my personal life, I would be much appreciated." She replied, "Okay. If you need anything, let me know."

      Now, her last message might seem all fine and dandy, but it wasn't so. Thursday, the start of classes rolled by, and then on the next Tuesday I received a call from an advisor (one I had never talked too) who wanted to know why I hadn't logged into my classes. I told her I was supposed to be un-enrolled, which she replied, "Oh, I'm sorry. I'll take care of that, ------(academic advisor I had emailed) hasn't told me that and you're still in our database as enrolled." I couldn't believe it! But what was even more crazy, was that that wasn't the end!

      I then received a call on Wednesday from the pushy boss of one of my academic advisors (yes, Mr. "Can we fax it?" "Can we mail it?"), who wanted to know why I hadn't logged into my classes! I told him as well that I was supposed to be un-enrolled. You would think that would be it? No! I got a call the next day from the head of the admissions department, "Hi, I heard that you want to be dropped from classes for this semester?" I replied, "Yes. I was supposed to be un-enrolled last week!" He then corrected me! "It's disenrolled." (Sorry, I know it's wrong, but who are you to be correcting me). He then asked if I was going to enroll next semester and I firmly said, "No." That was the end of our conversation. The "un-enrolling", or "disenrolling", fiasco was over. But, emails still came.

      Since then, I've received 5 emails from an academic advisor I've never talked to about enrolling for classes next semester. I replied to the first email with, "I'll never enroll. Stop emailing me and calling me and take me out of your database." But, I still am receiving emails, even after clicking, "Remove from Email List" on the fourth email I received. So, I might just have to close my email account and open a new one.

      My suggestion would be to do some research before requesting information or calling them. If you call them, make sure you definitely want to go to their school. They'll harass you, pester you, pressure you, and they won't let down! If their admissions process was that much of a nightmare, I can't imagine how the rest of the process is run!

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (7)

    • Reviewed by: shala B on February 24th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      How I wish I had read these reviews two nights ago. I am a non traditional student looking to earn a degree in the evening. I requested some information online from the school, and I started receiving a number of phone calls. I finally took a call from someone, and I hate to admit it, but I got sucked in. I spent two hours on the phone "applying" for enrollment and filling out student loan paperwork. I was pretty excited about starting school. I then came across a number of negative reviews at the school, and I emailed my "admissions officer" to ask to withdraw my application. Now -- in just two days, I have gone from getting 5 phone calls a day to being unable to get anyone to return my call. I'm out $50, and I may have committed myself to a student loan for a school I don't want to attend. If I get stuck with a student loan bill, I will report these people to the Department of Ed. Don't waste your time or money!

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (7)



    submit review

    Reviews Disclaimer: GetDegrees.com makes reviews freely available via this site. The views and opinions expressed by users do not reflect the views and opinions of GetDegrees.com. GetDegrees.com expressly disclaims any and all liability in connection with the content of any reviews.

    Related Searches