dcsimg
You are here:
Matching School Ad

The Art Institute of Pittsburgh - Online Division Reviews

There are currently 40 reviews of The Art Institute of Pittsburgh - Online Division

 
  • School Reviews
  • submit review
    The Art Institute of Pittsburgh - Online Division
    Sort By:
    • Reviewed by: L M on February 16th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I just happened upon this site and all of the bad reviews are getting me a bit worried as I've had problems with other schools or trying to get jobs after the fact. I'm only 5 weeks in, yet I can't get anyone to return my calls about financial aid or other materials I need. They were "all there" for me during the enrollment process, but now they're "ghost"! I wonder if I can withdraw now without too much damage.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (4)

    • Reviewed by: Patrick H on January 29th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I too wish I would have read this before attempting to enroll. I completed my first class and one week into my second class, I was told that my admission into the school was denied. I was told that it was do to poor high school transcripts. The bad part about that is they have transcripts from a school that I only attended one year at. The high school I got my diploma from I had about a 3.4 gpa. I was also told that I was going to be responsible for the cost for programs and books, and my first class even though I was not technically a student with them. Now I am trying to get into another school and they say that AIOP has my funds and will not return them. I have read some comments about faculty and the relations with the students. I can't even get somebody to call me back. This has been the worst experience with a school I have ever had.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (3)

    • Reviewed by: Monica P on January 15th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I could have saved a good 50k by going to Barnes and Nobles and picking up some books on media and web design. I've learned so much more from online tutorials than in any of the classes. This was a second degree for me and they still made me take ridiculous core classes just for the money.
      I should have known the school was a bad idea when I was harassed by the admissions department when I just called to ask some questions. A friend whose parents work there convinced me it would be a good idea, and she had taken classes through them prior.

      My "degree" is a waste. I can't find a job in the field and am drowning in student loan debt! I should've just withdrawn when I had the chance. Do yourself a favor and just hit the bookstore. You'll be relying on outside sources for your education, so you might as well keep your money in your pocket!

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (5)

    • Reviewed by: Stella E on December 22nd, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      This school is an aboslute disaster. There are plenty of other better-quality onlien schools offering similar curicula. I attended 1 class and received an A in it - after which they reported to me that they had both screwed-up my student loan funding and my enrollment and that I had to re-take the classs. They had also lied and told me I did not complete the class. Just a huge waste of 5 weeks!

      I think the high rate of tuition there very simply goes to advertising. They have no business being able to use Federal Student aid programs - I honestly think there may even be some fraud going on there.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (4)

    • Reviewed by: Nunya B on November 12th, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      Wow I really wish I would have read all of this before joining that dreadful school. I have a financial advisor who gets smart mouthed with me consistently and when I called and complained on her NOT EVEN THE BOSS got back to me. But I did notice that she sent me an email and cc'd her boss for the first time so that tell's me that they are all in it together and there is no hope to get anything done at this dreadful school. I'm currently studying graphic design and I don't see the point of doing all this extra work that has NOTHING to do with graphic design WITH NO PROGRAMS taught at all unless you do those small courses that you get no credit for to teach you basic design. I have taught myself EVERYTHING myself and only at this ridiculous yet high priced school for the degree. Put it this way... when I do got for digital art TRUST ME when I say I will not be returning to this hell hole ever again. Screw this school and the system..

      signed a very frustrated student

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (7)

    • Reviewed by: Julia S on November 5th, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I withdrew from AIOP recently due to changes in my employers school tuition program.

      After that, they started e-mailing/calling/billing me for the classes I had been assured were already paid for.

      Seems that they spontaneously lost the payment voucher I had scanned and e-mailed to several departments, several times. They're telling me that the "outstanding" bill (that they told me had already been paid before I withdrew) is accruing interest and that I will be responsible for that interest.

      They are also charging me for books and software that I paid for with my own money...not sure how that works.

      Not happy with these folks, not at all.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (4)

    • Reviewed by: Ali Z on October 14th, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      Awful school to deal with as they are ONLY interested in money. They hounded me non stop and when I told them I am considering another school, they started ignoring my calls and emails. Very rude.

      As far as education, there are much better alternatives and programs for far cheaper. AI boasts so much but when you talk to people in the industry, they will tell you other wise. You can do much better things with your time and money.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (3)

    • Reviewed by: Jeremy K on October 12th, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      Write a brief review of your experience with The Art Institute of Pittsburgh - Online Division (200 words or less)...I also recently was enrolled at AIOP (for 5 days) actually only 3 days since the first 2 days they kept screwing up my classes! When I told them I no longer wanted to continue my education there, they would transfer me to someone else, then I was told to just try it and if by Friday of the first week I didn't like it I could withdraw and that I wouldn't lose anything, like tuition and my precious time. Completely untrue, in fact, when I called on Friday to withdraw, they told me I would still have to pay for the class so I might as well just keep taking it. After declining that option I was told they had to review my file and would contact me later that day to process the withdrawl. Again a lie, I had to call them on Monday (the beginning of week 2 where 50%of the class must be paid for if you withdraw) I am completely disappointed with the quality and level of service. Like those who posted prior to me, I felt from the start all they cared about was getting you in and getting your money! DO NOT ATTEND ANY of THE ART INSTITUTIONS! The knowledge you receive from other schools will be the same and the amount of money you save will be enough to buy a new car!!!!

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (3)

    • Reviewed by: Peter F on July 7th, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I made it through 2 of the 4 years in the BS Media Arts and Animation program at Art Institute Online. My GPA thus far is 3.82. I am a good and dedicated student.
      I am also an alumni with an Associates Degree in Visual Communications from the Art Institute of Pittsburgh (1989-91)

      I am now withdrawing from the college to seek my education elsewhere.

      Art Institute of Pittsburgh back in 1989 was fantastic. Now that they are owned by Education Management Corporation, all that they care about is the $$$.

      While some of the instructors were absolutely great, most were not... I found myself actually learning more about the software I was using (3DS MAX, Adobe CS4, etc.) from tutorials I found all by myself online (like at YouTube) than what the school/my instructors were providing... Basically I was paying AIO, but teaching things to myself.

      In the two years I have been with AIO, I have had my student advisor changed on me 5 times. Most of them could never even remember my name.
      Last year my mother passed away at the very beginning of the session (2 days into class). I was told that I could take the bereavement leave, BUT I STILL HAD TO PAY FOR THE CLASSES I would be missing, and then pay for them again when I returned to retake them. Ridiculous & insensitive. That should have been my first clue.

      Actually, my first clue should have been all the credits that they would not accept from my previous degree towards this one, EVEN THOUGH THEY CAME FROM THE SAME SCHOOL!
      I was an Art Institute Alumni, and thet were basically telling me that the degree that they gave me then was worthless to transfer credits from towards courses in a related field. (Graphic Designer degree to digital design).

      AIO's tuition rates are also 3-4 times above the national average for similar "on-ground" courses at other colleges. In fact, almost all of the "Education Management Corporation" schools tend to be a much higher cost for tuition on avaerage. Plus EDMC has been accused of a lot of unsavory recruiting and business practices... My advice is to do some extensive research about AIO (and EDMC) before making any desicion about going there. There are plenty of other colleges out there that are a lot more trustworthy and a lot more considerate of their students.... and will cost you a lot less as well...

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (9)

    • Reviewed by: Lea S on January 7th, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      When I first started at the Art Institute Online it was a very positive experience; I had a great advisor who kept in touch with me and got to know me, every term my most of my teachers would call before class started to introduce themselves, I basically felt like I was getting an outstanding education. About half way though my degree things began to change; the personal interaction began to decline. I was assigned a new advisor who only contacts me at the beginning of each term to inform me that the term is starting, and then at the end of the term to inform me that it is ending. This advisor can not remember my name or what state I live in. When ever I speak to my advisor I am talked down to and treated like I am a bother. The calls from my instructors stopped. The instructor interaction online became slower. I have looked in to changing to another school but many of my credits would not transfer over. AIO sucks you in, treats you great until you reach the point of no return, then you are just a pay check to them.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (7)



    submit review

    Reviews Disclaimer: GetDegrees.com makes reviews freely available via this site. The views and opinions expressed by users do not reflect the views and opinions of GetDegrees.com. GetDegrees.com expressly disclaims any and all liability in connection with the content of any reviews.

    Related Searches