You are here:
Matching School Ad

Universal Technical Institute Reviews

There are currently 89 reviews of Universal Technical Institute

 
  • School Reviews
  • submit review
    Universal Technical Institute
    Sort By:
    • Reviewed by: Brendan H on April 28th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      UTI is a for-profit school, it is a public company traded on the NYSE. No different from any other public company its main objective is to make money for themselves and their share holders. They accomplish this by marketing (the art of making some buy something they don't need at a price they can't afford) to kids who enjoy automobiles.
      I attended a State University for 1 year (30 credits), and then saw all the commercials on T.V. for UTI and I decided I was going to chase my dream job. Shortly after the recruiter came to my parents house to talk to us (in his 60k Lexus) about the school, I was signed up. My parents left the decision up to me. At the time ('04) there were only two UTI campuses and not a lot of reviews. Being very supportive parents they did not get in my way. I got good grades and had near perfect attendance (which is not to hard to do as long as you show up) but after a few days I realized that these classes were full spoiled kids that did not really care. Yes there are some students here who care (I was one of them), and for them this is not a good learning environment. A few months later a dropped out and cut my losses, I know hold two degrees from an accredited school in the engineering field.

      My main advice is to go talk to local dealerships, there will be service mangers there that will be more then happy to talk to you (especially if you get your car serviced with them) about were they get their employees from and what you should do.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (41)

    • Reviewed by: Dazed and confuse C on April 29th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I attended the glendale heights campus and I must say the school is a waste of time! I took 6 classes (4.0) GPA and I realized that I still couldnt even replace a belt on a car.... I decided to cut my losses (now $9000) in debt and I dropped out. There are no minimum standards to get into this school , so the diploma you get would be worthless. These kids dont realize that trying to get out from under a $30,000 loan plus interest is a hard thing to do. Forget getting a new car or a home loan! I recommend just going to a local community college and take courses there. I have a four year degree from a Division I university, so I know what I'm talking about....

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (26)

    • Reviewed by: Peter L on May 11th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I am a current student at uti and I find the classes do not teach enough information to be able to bridge the gap from the class room to the feild. I was hopping that the school would be able to expand my ablity to understand modern day vehicals not cars from the 90's. This school is 10 to 20 years behind. I have been in the feild for 8 years as an ase certifed tech and work for many top notch places. If you are looking to go here from a tech high school you will not learn more then you know. You never get the chance to actually fix a car not even your own. they are more concerned with the bottom line of profit and their pointless rules. They will try to destroy you in infractions if they feel you are not the right material to be a tech. If you want to work on cars then try a different place then here I have learned how to do a starter draw test now for 10 phases. It is a waste of money and time. I will graduate to be able to get free manifacturer trainning.

      Current student 816109
      if you work for the school call me if you want to listen maybe someone does

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (37)

    • Reviewed by: jim K on May 18th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I am 26 years old with 4 ase , hunter cert, 609, 608,and ac I went to this school to cut threw the red tape of dealerships and move forward to their training at a faster pase. I have worked in my own shop for 2 out of my 8 years in the field and when they give infractions because you tire is touching a line, is out of line. I believe in infractions for shirts un tucked and language and horse play but when they waste a salary on a person to tell if your tires are not on the lines and buy them carts to drive to see if they are as well as if your sticker is in the right place not just visible when they changed rules mid classes for students it shows student that techs can be lazy in their work ethics and as long as the smallest of things are good then they will get a raise. This is not true in real life! they have no welding program. They have weak information if they are going to be called a college. High school in the mass area have better information then UTI but they are not hands on. UTI is about 20% hands on. They do not stop sexual harassment in classes. I watch a female student get called a fat slut and then told by an Educational Manager not to worry about it. and the student had no infractions or trouble in doing this. IS THAT PROFESSIONALISM OR WHAT? so if you want to talk professionalism this school is not it .

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (11)

    • Reviewed by: Stan J, Certificate in on July 28th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      DONT DO IT, BIGGEST WASTE OF MONEY, DONT LISTEN TO THOSE RECRUITERS aka (LIARS)....wish i could go back in time and change everything....

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (14)

    • Reviewed by: Debi M, Master in on July 30th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      We are parents with a daughter who is planning to attend UTI next fall. I spoke with the recruiter for about 45 mins on the phone asking several questions. He tried very hard not to answer the total cost questions which is 34,000 for 18 months. All he really wanted to do was tell me that she could get 2,000 Pell Grant, That is just a drop in the bucket. Now after reading the reviews posted, I am positive that they are only concerned with making money. The School is legal, but the young adults don't understand that when they are finished with this school and head to a real College or University, they start all over again. While a couple of the reviews were positive, the majority were not. I hold my degree from Valdosta State University in GA, and it is good anywhere. To give you more information, My Degree is in Industrail Education, so yes I would be able to teach at UTI, problem is I would not have a teaching license. The teachers are not really a teacher. That is why they are behind in what they teach. Real teachers are required to take classes yearly to keep their certs. Not this type of school.

      Parents beware, I can teach them the same information for a lot less. I have the experience in Teaching, over 15 years worth, My experience is with Central Texas College, Army Contracts and US Marine students. Just beware of this program.

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (12)

    • Reviewed by: Gary s, Associate in on August 2nd, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      To : Parents of potential student C on March 22nd, 2010 My son went to NTI straight from HS. The school promises alot of things. They have the things they offer but my didn't teach much that helps a mechanic in the real world. My son got A's, always on the Dean's list. New all the Ford factory stuff. But wasn't taught sh.... about the basics. I my heart I believe we've wasted $25,000.00. We also had to get parent loans to pay for it. We wanted to give our son an advantage over the rest. UTI,NTI,MMI are not the place for that advantage. Keep your son in a local mechanics program maybe at a Junior College or Voc school. Save your money and your mind. I wish there was way I could cotact you directly.
      From
      Good Luck GBS in Dayton,Ohio

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (12)

    • Reviewed by: Dario L, Certificate in on August 20th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I started UTI on 8/02/2010, Actually eventhough there are lots of kids that dont care, I like the school, just not the one here in Houston TX.... If you got a criminal back ground, no matter if it was 30 or 40 years ago, dont bother, now you know why Houston crime rate is so high, they dont give anyone a second chance so of coursethese people will do anything to survive, UTI promised me lots of things, and I am dissapointed, luckly I pay good attention, but the teachers fly thru the courses and there is a test every 2 days....DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY IN THE HOUSTON CAMPUS all these jobs that they talk about , the only employers I always hear about here in houston is from louisiana,....what the f_(&%^&$ am not gonna move to louisiana.....see you guys soon, moviing back to florida, and try the orlando campus PS... its easy finance here at UTI, but if you drop out YOU ARE F)*(^*&%$&%#^.....get it

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (13)

    • Reviewed by: maximillian n, Associate in on November 12th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      Rating on this school F. MONEY SCANDALS STRAIGHT UP! DONT GO! When I first started I got lured in, got free tickets to Monster Jam and other BS. It was a good school till about half way through, thats when its true colors showed. There finacial aid is terrible. You go in and get a different person every time, and they will tell you something different. Even if you get the same person they give you a song and a dance. I had auto/diesel/ford that put me at just under 40K. Went to drop ford and add freightliner came down to 37k. Never signed a paper stating I changed, so thats still open. Got a job working at a shop wanted to get out early, not even an hour, I would have gotten docked time, which i understand cause you have to meet certain status. BUT, you get graded, I would have failed the f***ing school. Had to reapply for 2010/2011 financial aid. I applied. They said I need this and that. Still all f***ked up. You get one free retake. I used it cause the instructor was a complete idiot. BTW you only have to be in the field for two years then you can teach there:) Took another one, this time I had to pay 1200 for the class. They wanted $115 every month till it was paid off. Well im not rich so I told them to F**k off. Took a phase break for 6 weeks to get away and relax for awhile. I finally decided Im tired of the BS. I just waited for my withdraw papers. I got em also with a a nasty letter saying you owe 5300. I called and straight up said F**K YOU.Need more room to write!

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (13)

    • Reviewed by: Cara T, Associate in on November 13th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      Our son and we experienced what seemed like a great recruiter. Of course,she sat in our house,at our table,smiling and acting all tough and matter-of-fact about everthing she talked about (including criticizing the Native Americans in Alaska,calling them drunks and lazy no-goods),she was also a veteran. She offered incentives to our son and us that were never realized because they,in fact, did not exist. She lied to our faces to get her commision. UTI, in my opinion,does not keep a very tight rope on their recruiters. She is living high, and we are now paying a loan twice as large as it should have been. We were assured that my husband would only be a co-signer, that any multiple loans could be combined,no problem,yeah,right. My husband is now the principal payer on these loans! The people in the UTI offices were of almost no help to our son, who had to wait and wait and wait for his checks to come through for him, he always got new people to discuss his issues with,never got the same story twice. Very disappointing. I guess the school makes great money because of fraudulent behavior from their lying reps, so why should they care about the families that get screwed?

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (18)



    submit review

    Reviews Disclaimer: GetDegrees.com makes reviews freely available via this site. The views and opinions expressed by users do not reflect the views and opinions of GetDegrees.com. GetDegrees.com expressly disclaims any and all liability in connection with the content of any reviews.

    Related Searches