dcsimg
You are here:
Matching School Ad

University Canada West Reviews

There are currently 25 reviews of University Canada West

 
  • School Reviews
  • submit review
    University Canada West
    Sort By:
    • Reviewed by: Cathy P, Bachelor in business-administration-degrees on October 3rd, 2012
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I completed my BCom with University Canada West and was happy with the overall quality of education. What I liked most was that I did not need to travel or spend time on campus, this worked well with my family.

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (2)

    • Reviewed by: MICHAEL A, Master in business-administration-degrees on August 2nd, 2012
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I have been a student at University Canada West since May of 2012, enrolled in the MBA program. Prior to that I studied Computer Science at York University (2001) and IT Management at Ryerson University (2009) and I must commend the school UCW for such great faculty and flexible programs that allow working professionals to pursue their degree without sacrificing work. Having completed a few courses; I feel my money is very well spent. Professor has been easy to access, the enrollment counselors where very helpful in guiding me through the program and also advising me on the time commitment required in a masters level program. Since enrollment, my counselor has stayed in touch with me on regular basis helping me with any issues and questions. I think most people confuse the UCW?s expectations of students with that of other universities. What I realized very quickly upon taking my first course was that UCW places emphasizing on guiding student learning rather than lecturing to students. I learned very quickly that a significant amount of personal time commitment to reading texts, research papers, assignments, quizzes and multiple weekly discussion questions will be necessary to pass any course. Professors stepping into weekly discussions with insightful questions shed light in many areas not apparent in the textbooks. I have never been prouder of my decision to attend UCW.

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (2)

    • Reviewed by: Ebrahim J, Bachelor in marketing-degrees on February 27th, 2012
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I have been a student here for last three years in the undergraduate program, and the quality of education is outstanding. Our professors come from a diverse background with high expertise. UCW is a small university but it is growing tremendously and I am sure in next 3-5 years it will one of the leading universities in the country. Some of the professors like Touss Sepehr, Zarbi, Rui Silva, Mary Chrleson, Jim Randell, James Tong, Shawn Ireland, and many more.

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (1)

    • Reviewed by: EJ J on February 4th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I think the students in this instituion get quality education and knowledge which can be easily competeble with other top universities. The university also has well experienced faculty.
      University Canada west was started in 2004, and I feel that in the next 5 years it will be one of the top universities in Canada

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (3)

    • Reviewed by: Jason S on September 5th, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I think the quality of education is great at Ucan and the environment is very intimate. The only thing the school lacks is organization, if that was fixed they would be a top notch school

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (2)

    • Reviewed by: EBRAHIM J on August 24th, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I think that University Canada West is an university which provides quality education to the students in a peaceful environment.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (3)

    • Reviewed by: Greg M, Bachelor in journalism-schools on July 31st, 2012
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      Prior to enrolling, I contacted the BC Ministry responsible, read the blogs (the nasty stuff too) and I spoke to the school?s intake people. Then, after looking at all the options, completing the prior learning assessment, and testing the virtual classroom technology, I am pleased to say I have been a student at University Canada West since May of 2011. In past 15-months, I have taken several classes (towards a BA) and I have interacted with students/administration, the career services branch (which is very helpful), the library and several other elements found at the school. Of course I live in Ontario so I am required to deal with such matters on-line and/or on the phone but, despite the distance, I have been tremendously satisfied with the product and service I have received. The teachers have been accessible and capable, the technology has been dependable, the administration has been easy to deal with and the curriculum is sound, challenging and up-to-date. The school even added a textbook rental option to help keep student costs as low as possible. All this to say - I do not work for the University, I am not being paid to write this, and I have looked at many other options. Still, I am very pleased with my choice of schools and, as a working professional with a limited budget/time and a young family, I am particularly happy with everything that I have found here.

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (3)

    • Reviewed by: Mihir H, Master in marketing-degrees on March 11th, 2012
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      Great Teaching staff.

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (1)

    • Reviewed by: Jessica M, Bachelor in on April 14th, 2011
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I attended UCW for my degree in Commerce, I had a great experience made SO many friends from all over the world-and would not of traded mt experience for anything. Just like all private institutions UCW is expensive-however they do not have government funding like public schools so that is how the school is run!! It is ideal for mature students who cannot wait 4 yrs for a degree, as long as you can sell yourself and you have a degree you will be fine. However, if you do not have any social/networking skills you will not find employment no matter where you have obtained your degree!! All of the teachers were very helpful and would stay with you after class or before, the small class sizes allow you to learn more and receive more of the teachers attention if necessary-this is also a great help for international students. Like I said the people who are posting negative reviews online are only the 5% who could not find work with their degree....the other 95% that could actually sell themselves did not have any trouble and no future employers have even questioned their degrees. This outrages me that people would say the staff are salesmen just out to get your money-when this school was SO much more than that, I became friends with all of the staff and had SO much support that you would never receive at a public school-including financial advisers and career counsellors. The above comments come from bitter people who will never find jobs because of their personalities not UCW.

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (6)

    • Reviewed by: Sam R, Master in on March 3rd, 2011
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      University is providing all the facilities and peer groups are great for learning.Professors are helpful and are very good resource persons for case methods and project / application related learning.
      Students get decent job placements.
      Its a great place to get MBA degree

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (6)



    submit review

    Reviews Disclaimer: GetDegrees.com makes reviews freely available via this site. The views and opinions expressed by users do not reflect the views and opinions of GetDegrees.com. GetDegrees.com expressly disclaims any and all liability in connection with the content of any reviews.

    Related Searches