dcsimg
You are here:
Matching School Ad

Virginia College Reviews

There are currently 17 reviews of Virginia College

 
  • School Reviews
  • Request School Info submit review
    Virginia College
    Sort By:
    • Reviewed by: Eyerusalem S, Master in web-design-schools on September 20th, 2012
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      If i get this chance i am lucky women from Ethiopia

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (0)

    • Reviewed by: Stacy V on February 15th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I again about VConline cheating you. I have been with them for over 3 years and now in the middle of my winter term, I am told that I have maxed out on my government loan money. They also told me that I have a balance of over $3ooo that I owe them. But they could never tell me how much was in my account after they received my loan money. I would say that the school is over priced and I should have really looked into a school with better accreditation and less expensive. Don't go to VConline.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (9)

    • Reviewed by: Kendra C on January 27th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I have been with VCO since June 2009 and Im currently in my 3rd Quarter. The classes are easy you just have to be committed to taking the classes . I have not recieved any funding and they keep giving me the run around. I never had money problems with a school before. I had two budgets created since I have enrolled. My 1st budget was of $8886. I was told I didnt recieve any Pell for the Summer term. So for this Winter term they applied for it. Which makes this budget for this Winter term $13332. They are telling me I have my PELL and SEOG of a total of $5650 thats mine but I only have $12 in my account that Im recieving in a week. My PELL and SEOG was disbursed to them on the 19th and found out on the 23rd of this month. I found out today on 1/27/2010 that they have been received my Sub/Unsub on the 8th of this month. Its like they are stealing from me. This is money I have to pay back to my lender. They are taking funds and extra funds and keeping it. Im just tired of the run around and I want my money that I have a right to. I had my financial packet set up to come to me, and apparently it hasn't made it this way. No one can give accurate information. Im a single stay at home mother thats not working and I have things I have take care of as well. For those who are recieving their funds, I want to know why Im not recieving mines. Im to the point of contacting higher authority or do all thats needed to report them and so on if matters arent corrected.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (10)

    • Reviewed by: jones C on January 8th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      DO NOT GO TO VCO! I wish I could do it all over again being in almost 35,000 in debt from the school. Go to a local community college or local University. The school is not also regionally accredited which is the most important accreditation of them all. Local community college or local Universities are regionally accredited. I have kids and wanted something more easier, but I learned that easier is not always the case. The instructors are not helpful, they just give you the assignments and you have to deal with it. I wish I could start over, I would have not attended this college at all. I also wished these recent reviews would have posted before I went. It would have save me a whole lot of money for a worthless degree.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (9)

    • Reviewed by: Jakara P on January 5th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I started attending VCO in June of 2009. I have had minor problems with one professor not responding to emails or checking their virtual office. However, my student success rep and my admission rep are always there to correct the problem.

      I agree with one of the post above that you have to be on top of your school work. My first semster was pretty easy but my second semster was a little diffcult. I have a 3.1 GPA. I try to maintain my grades. I am a mother of 5. If I can maintain my grades anyone can. You have to be dedicated to going online 4-5 times a week and a minimum of 12 hrs a week. I feel like I am spending my money and their is no way that I am going to repeat any courses. I do not have any money to throw away. .

      As for as the comment the teacher left. I really question if she is bitter about her job, and if it is a fradualent school why would you work there? All in all this school is more affordaable than Keiser University and Phonix University. I am enjoying the education I am receiving. As far as the financial aid checks, I was advise that they do not let you take out the max amout of the sub/unsubsidized loan. I only took out what I need it.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (4)

    • Reviewed by: Dena S on September 14th, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      Wow! I can't believe there are so many negative feedbacks on this school. I have been a student for almost 3 yrs and I have loved it! I've had a few negative/lazy professors but I let my student advisor know immediately and I also fill out the surveys at the end of the semester. Who said the classes were easy? They tend to be a little more laid back but it's an online environment so the Professors overlook things.

      I've always gotten my checks in the mail. When you sign up with your packet you have the option to send the money back, store it in your student acct, or receive a check in the mail. I receive my checks in the mail and they usually come approximately 2 weeks after you receive your subsized/unsubsidized letter in the mail.

      VCO has switched to new system and there have been email confusions and etc. However, it seems to be straightened out now. Sometimes the grades do not unlock and you have to ask the professor to unlock them. Tech support is there 24/7 to back you up if you have problems. In order for you to have problems with this school, you have to basicly not care about your work. I am a straight A student and it's not because the classes are easy. It's because I login 4-5 times per week and really dedicate about 12-15 hrs per week to my classes.

      Letters of recommendations? Umm.. you are an online student. Your transcripts should reflect your ability to do your job. For instance, I have stayed on the President's list or Dean's List the entire time. This reflects in your transcripts that you have an unofficial copy emailed to you at no expense. Also, you will receive certificates in the mail if you do make the President's/Dean's list.

      In addition, I would like to add that this is a reasonably priced school. I am a military wife so I get a discount. I pay 180 per credit hour and that includes all of my books. You can't get a better deal than that these days! I hope this helps all of you thinking about VCO because this is the school to go to.

      Yes, I do wonder about some of the people enrolled in these classes. Some are very intelligent but some can't even understand English, I think. Some of them seem to be really illiterate or they just simply don't care. However, you find those types at every college!

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (5)

    • Reviewed by: catherine L on August 28th, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      When I started I told the school I could not afford to pay anything at this time. But some how I owe money and I can not pay it and my classes are blocked. So that stops my school work until I can pay. I have no job so I do not know when I can pay. I do not know where to get any help with more money for school. I was told I could not get a state grant because the school is not on their list. So now I have to wait to get a degree until I come up with more money.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (3)

    • Reviewed by: Lew G on March 11th, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      Contrary to the comments here, I have been having a wonderful time attending Virginia College Online. I agree the school has been having some technical issues but most all have been resolved as far as I can tell. Most of these have occurred because of the growth of the program. When I started two and a half years ago VCO had less than 200 students. I understand that enrollment now exceeds 4000 students and is continuing to grow. That's going to cause growing pains in any organization. I also had no problem getting my FA overage check.

      I do not understand the problems indicated with the emails. I get emails every week from most of my instructors. We are using a new platform for class delivery that has taken a little getting used to but it does everything the old one did except show class averages.

      For the most part, I have also had a good experience with the instructors. Most are very helpful and understanding. I have had a couple that did not participate in discussions or return emails promptly but they were definitely in the minority. As far as the classes being easy, some have been relatively low key but many have also required a lot of work and been extremely difficult. I tend to enjoy the difficult classes more than the easy ones.

      I would recommend VCO to anyone but especially to anyone who can not attend a "brick and mortar" university. It is a little more expensive but the degree will be worth it.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (1)



    submit review

    Reviews Disclaimer: GetDegrees.com makes reviews freely available via this site. The views and opinions expressed by users do not reflect the views and opinions of GetDegrees.com. GetDegrees.com expressly disclaims any and all liability in connection with the content of any reviews.

    Want More Information about Virginia College?

    To receive more information about the degree programs offered by Virginia College, simply click the request school info button and complete the short form.

    Request School Info

    Related Searches

  • request school info