dcsimg
You are here:
Student
Learn more about Walden University

Fill out our quick form to get answers to your top questions.

  • How much is tuition?
  • When do classes start?
  • Can I get financial aid?
Request Information
Matching School Ad

Walden University Reviews

There are currently 23 reviews of Walden University

 
  • School Reviews
  • Request School Info submit review
    Walden University
    Sort By:
    • Reviewed by: kate A, Doctoral in on July 26th, 2013
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (1)

    • Reviewed by: S B, Bachelor in child-development-degrees on July 25th, 2011
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      Walden was the best thing that ever happened to me! I feel well equipped to continue my educaton to become a certified teacher in my home State. Walden staff, students, and programs worked well in my hectic schedule and the course work was top notch and challenging. I earned my BA in child development and not have the educational foundation that I need to finish. Thanks to Walden!!

      Convenience/flexibility:
      Value for money spent:
      Benefit to Career:
      Quality of education:
      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (3)

    • Reviewed by: Linda E on April 6th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I just completed my doctoral program in Health Psychology at Walden University. This was my first experience with an online university. My other degrees were earned at traditional schools. Walden's standards were just as rigorous as any traditional university. The program was research intense. Most of my courses required that I research two questions each week using both the course texts and the university library's databases. My weekly papers were 4 -5 pages long. In addition most courses required a 20 - 25 page research paper. My dissertation was a 174 page manuscript that documented my original research into a topic that filled a true gap in the scholarly literature. Like all Walden dissertations it has social change implications. My instructors were for the most part, excellent. They were supportive, knowledgeable, and engaged. My first statistics instructor helped me overcome my statistics phobia. He was available 7 days a week by telephone to students. He also severed as the methods member on my dissertation committee and has now welcomed me as a friend and colleague. My dissertation chair was my instructor for the first class I took at Walden. She became my mentor and was very supportive throughout my program. She has also welcomed me as a friend and colleague and we plan on continuing our work together.

      I was welcomed and supported by administrators as well. Dr. DeZolt, the Provost of Walden. She helped me by finding an archival database to use for my dissertation. Yes, Walden is a very large university. But, in my experience, if you work hard and reach out to people, they are very responsive. If you expect to have the same experience you had in a traditional university, i.e. lectures, people giving you the information, etc. you will be very disappointed. However, if you are willing to take responsibility for your own education and take advantage of all of the resources Walden has to offer, you will succeed.

      I really enjoyed my experience at Walden University. I was very self-motivated. Very proactive. And very open to the experience. And now, as of last Monday, I have a Ph.D.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (17)

    • Reviewed by: Good Pupil A on March 1st, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      Write a brief At first, I was very skeptical about online classes. But Walden University has changed my mind. I was not accepted at the UNC system for my MPA due to the fact I did not score 1100 points on the GRE. I did not want to waste time and did my little research on online universities. After careful consideration, I decided to go with Walden.
      My first and second quarters were very hard. APA style along with lots of reading, I was overwhelmed. However, when I understood that it takes discipline and hard work to earn a degree; I was into it. Hard work is nothing when you are a veteran of the US Armed Forces.
      Two years after, I completed the program with some kind of personal satisfaction. I am taking a little break right now before going for the PhD program. What I can only say is: higher education is not for everyone!

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (8)

    • Reviewed by: Carlos C on January 19th, 2010
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I am in the last year of the doctoral program in education and glad I selected Walden. The experience has been so enriching and most of the instructors fabulous. What so many of the others have said before is true; this is not a program for those who are not willing to put in the work because Walden gives you nothing you have to earn it! I did a BA and a Masters at CSUDH and this program is just as rigorous. WALDEN is the best! (-:

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (2)

    • Reviewed by: Vonda L on December 28th, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      Walden has been challenging for me. I started in 2008 working on my doctorate in The Teacher As A Leader Program. Each instructor has given me timely, and constructive feedback. This program takes self-discipline and consistency. You must be dedicated and complete all assignments. The Quantatative Research course taught me so much about the SPSS program and various statistical methods.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (3)

    • Reviewed by: Patrice T on December 4th, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I have a bachelors and a masters degree from the UNC university system and one HBC university both well known land based universities. I got accepted into a PHD program and another land based university, moved my family and started school. Because my children's needs went up do to the fact that I had no family support I was forced to quit my land based education and go to Walden University. I was devastated and my professors and advisors begged me to stay, but I had to go. Switching to Walden has been the BEST decision ever. They use the very same text books and I have learned the most advanced technical skills using distance learning. During my extensive research before making this decision I learned that in the next 5 years or less Walden and other schools like them will far surpass many universities not only in technology, but also in writing and research. We are held to the strictest standards of APA style, which has put me far ahead of my land based counterparts. We get the latest APA updates, books and resources for writing. I have learned about triangulation and very complicated citation rules. The classes have to be “canned”, which I called highly structured, because of the online factor. It makes it sooo much easier to follow and keep up. At first I was very put off by the online process, because everything seemed cookie cutter. It was not until my third class that I realized that everything I do from my very first class will be used in my dissertation process. This level of continuity helps volumes when your dissertation is underway, because all you have to do is have done everything perfectly from the beginning and then you will not have all of the problems you have been hearing from others. Many who do not have good experiences in online learning do not form close relationships with their peers and professors, nor do they use every bit of support that Walden has to offer. You have to be more disciplined, more determined and more intelligent to complete and online course than you do a land based curriculum. Trust me I have done both and land based institutions have given me way more problems with communication, money, losing grades and registration that I have every experienced online. I only have 2 more classes to go before I finish my EdD in Adult Higher Education and it has gone perfectly, because I have worked it perfectly.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (7)

    • Reviewed by: Dr. Will M on August 16th, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      The negative reviews of Walden are overwhelmingly written y those who cannot cut it in a rigorous graduate program. I have three Masters degrees from other Universities (University of Massachusetts, Columbia University and Union Theological Seminary in NYC) as well as a doctorate from UMass. To suggest that Walden is not up to the standards of others is simply the rubbish of malcontents. It is every it as rigorous as the other graduate programs I have completed. I understand that there is suspicion about "online learning" but this place is the real deal.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (7)

    • Reviewed by: Joe H on August 7th, 2009
      Overall Rating:
          report review

      I am in now in my dissertation phase of Walden's doctoral program in Engineering Management. It has been two and a half years of fairly intense KAM-based work that has yielded one published paper, one paper pending publication, a poster session, and significant research. It is work. The doctoral graduation rate is rumored to be only 3% of those who begin the program so beware. This is not diploma mill.

      Was this review useful to you?  
      useful review
      (4)



    submit review

    Reviews Disclaimer: GetDegrees.com makes reviews freely available via this site. The views and opinions expressed by users do not reflect the views and opinions of GetDegrees.com. GetDegrees.com expressly disclaims any and all liability in connection with the content of any reviews.

    Want More Information about Walden University?

    To receive more information about the degree programs offered by Walden University, simply click the request school info button and complete the short form.

    Request School Info

    Related Searches

  • request school info